STEEMIT MUSIC 104: SCORING A SONG

in #busy7 years ago (edited)

rockband-4-virtual-reality.jpg
Credit

The term score or scoring means different things in various fields, like in football, music and so on, but of cause we will zero in on its application in music.
Even in music, the usage of the term score or scoring varies or implies various meaning. For example, if a Singer is to score a song, he or she will more concerned about the lyrics of the song, dynamics, etc. Also, if a keyboardist or pianist is to that same song, he or she is very much concerned with chords progression, etc.

Therefore, the first step to scoring a song is, DECIDE WHAT YOU WANT TO SCORE. Notwithstanding, if you happen to be a Music Director, your job is to score the entire music at least. Scoring songs can be very demanding many times, but its effect is always necessary and evident to our development musically.
This week as is always my custom, I decided to score the HARMONY arrangement of a great song written by TODD DULANEY titled FREE WORSHIPPER. You can listen to it here
Here is my score, for each line of the lyrics, the sol-fa notations are arranged in order of what Soprano, Alto and Tenor sings respectively:


s s s f fm
m m m r rd
d d d l ls
Free to dance and sing

s s s l s s s s
r r r m r r r r
t t t d t t t t
Free to lift my hands and worship

fs f f s f f
r d d r d d
t l l t l l
Lord I'm free, Lord I'm free

s l d d s s
m f s s m m
d r m m d d
I'm a free Worshipper

s l d d t t
m f s s s s
d r m m r r
I'm a free Worshipper

s l d d s s
m f s s m m
d r m m d d
I'm a free Worshipper

l l l
f f f
r d d
Lord I'm free

I thank God I'm Free and I'll never be bound again
(Unison)

Chorus on SWAP

r d d r d t
l s s l s s
f m m f m r
Lord I'm free, Lord I'm free

r d d r d d
l s s l l l
f m m f f f
Lord I'm free, Lord I'm free

Ohh, Ohh, Ohh (Unison)
Lord I'm Free (Harmony)

Whom the Son set free is free indeed

I am free. Praise the Lord I'm free
No longer bound. No more chains holding me
My soul is resting. It's just a blessing

l l s m f s s f m
f f m d r m m r d
r r d s l d d l s
Praise the Lord Hallelujah I'm Free

Please make your comment and asked your questions where necessary
Thank you!
download.gif
@fanen
STEEMIT MUSIC TUTOR

Sort:  

Greetings @fanen! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed as part of Shareables' campaign. Enjoy your free resteem!

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting shareables' campaign here in Steemit. For more information about our campaign, click here!

@Shareables, we resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fanen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72