Why I use busy.org for interaction with the steem blockchain & what I love about it, bookmarks, drafts and more.

in #busy7 years ago (edited)


image.png

You may or may not have noticed that allmost all of my posts have the busy tag in them. That is because I mostly post my posts through busy.org

But why ?


Many of you will remember the bad days of October '17 when Steemit.com was offline more often that not (it was before the redesign & accompanying fixes for the causing issues)

That is when I really started looking into busy.org. I had already known about it, but up untill then, never really used it.

That changed in october due to all the issues on Steemit.com.

Busy.org provided another way onto the Steem blockchain in swift manner, being mostly unhampered by the problems plaguing steemit.com (thought currently, there are some issues on the entire blockchain which are being looked into.)

See, Steemit.com does NOT equal Steem blockchain. Steemit.com is just a frontend to put content (Blogs) into the blockchain, or, as I realised at one point, a proof-of-concept (although a VERY good one). Other frontends are Busy.org (obviously) but also D Tube for videos, d mania for 9gag like memes, D Sound for music and soundbytes and there might be a couple more.

Busy tries to provide an alternative front end and it's doing a couple of things really good that I really like and enjoy !

Save posts / bookmarks

image.png

For instance, you can *SAVE posts for later reading, which IMO is awesome.
For instance, I have a post saved with all possible markdown for later referal when I am writing a post and need any kind of markdown. For instance, there's a post by @someguy123 about tax accounting for witnesses (which I am with my fellow @blockbrothers @ s3rg3, @exyle and @bennierex). I have no real use for it now but maybe somewhere down the road I would want to read this again. I know I could just bookmark it in the browser, but I don't sync my browsers across devices. With this feature I can read it wherever.

Make Drafts

Another great feature is the ability to just start a new post but continue it later or on another device. Busy will save a draft of any new post you start till you actually post it. I often use this feature to start writing on my workstation at work during lunchbreak, then continue on my phone while commuting, to finish it on my home workstation after dinner. It's for me one of the main reasons busy.org is awesome.
image.png

$view of upvotes

image.png

You don't only get to see who upvotes you, but also with how much. Not that it really matters, but it's a nice addition over not seeing anything. You can also see it by directly hovering over the number next to the thumbsup without having to go into the post itself.


Market prices in wallet

image.png

When you go to your wallet on busy.org you will immiately see the price of Steem & Steem Dollars on the side. which is great. All other wallet functionality is there as well.


Activity Feed.

In addtion to your feed, which are posts from others, inside your own profile there's a feed showing everything happening related to your account with filters to only show what you're looking for.
image.png

As you can see, there are already plenty of reasons to at least explore using busy.org. It has almost all of the features and it's still in beta, it can only get better.

Go check it out and try it. Maybe it fits you.

[edit]
I made an axtra post explaining how to use SteemConnect Here

Sort:  

Hi brother @eqko
Thank you for sharing
I liked this article and really deserved it Resteem This Post
I apologize I do not have a voting power until you vote

I am so used to using Steemit.com but should start using busy. Looks very user friendly.

Yeah it really is. Only thing that’d make it even better is a dark scheme...

I'm new to Steem and Steemit, and I wasn't even aware that there were multiple UI's that could be used! Busy looks to be a much better option in my opinion, and I'll surely give it a try! Thanks for the info!

https://steemit.com/@therockman

Yeah it’s good to be aware of all the different frontend to realise the difference between a front-end website and the blockchain

Wow, I had no idea you could use different site to post :O How secure is it? Looks wayy more handy than regular steemit.

It’s totally secure. You only have to log in using steemconnect (which is also made by the busy guys and supporters bu steemit) with your active key once to allow busy.org to post. then you log out of steemconnect from the dashboard and log back in with your posting key here

I’ll make a post about it. All other non-steemit.com frontends use it to handel the login as well.

I made an axtra post explaining how to use SteemConnect Here

Just curious: how do you $view of upvotes? It only shows me that I can unvote :)

just press on the number next to the thumbsup. you’ll see who votes and with what amount

Thank you it worked :D

Save posts / bookmarks

Omg, this is a killer feature that I miss very much on Steemit.com
Thanks @eqko for giving some info about busy - I'll try it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83