Why I have nowhere to live

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

architecture-1868667_960_720.jpgYou don't know me yet, but I am a Venezuelan girl. I have lived in Venezuela almost my entire life. I have enjoyed all the marvels and wonders of living under the rule of the hot sun, yet I have suffered it too.

As you probably already know, this 30 million inhabitants country located north in the Southern hemisphere has been under the rule of an allegedly communist regime for two decades now. We, the twenty-something-ers, don't know anything else.

One word determines your life: Centralization. Here, if you don't live in Caracas, the capital city, you have limited opportunities for growing personally. That's why most move, I did. 90% of my coworkers were born and raised in the provinces. So, while still young, we left our homes and parents to live the life.

In 2009, after selling a mattress and a TV, my divorced mom and I were ready to rent a small room for one with a tiny bed, where we didn't completely fit, which cost 1300 bolívares back then. Now, a cheap rented room costs from 2 to 3 million bolívares. Can I afford that? Not really. Right now, I'm living at a friend's house, not in Caracas, but one hour away from it. Still, it's better than going back home.

Now, next time you think of Venezuela, remember all these talented and aspiring young people who are striving against adversity and who, like me, have nowhere to live.

Sort:  

Congratulations @emilytwee, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

30 million inhabitants country

I wonder what the current number is, since this is pre-exodus statistics. <3

Welcome, Emily :) Glad to have you here.

Thank you, @cryptosharon. Well, since there haven't been recent censuses... There's no way to know.

Follow, I follow back, let's support each other 😊

Don't spam :3

Congratulations @emilytwee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01