This Hardfork 19 really makes me want to blog again on Steem!

in #busy7 years ago (edited)

I've been so BUSY lately that there is a lot of frustration for not being able to find the time to update my steem blog and give everyone news on what is going on behind the curtains.

I also had to take a week off, due to the death of a close relative (Grandfather, I miss you...) to help the family grieving. Mourning, suffering was painful. I had to join a Temple and follow our family/buddhist tradition and became Monk for a few days to honor him and help his soul go to heaven. In fact it was awesome and helped me a lot.

I'm back, stronger than ever, with this inexplicable energy, and tons of ideas for our ecosystem! Catching up on everything...

I'll try to blog more about any topics as well, and I feel like today is a special day to start writing. Not English native, I tend to idealize the quality of content I want to produce, so it often doesn't come to an end. Every day I keep telling myself I should just start writing even if there are mistakes, I'll only keep improving by writing more often. "Practice makes Perfect" right?

Now I'll post even my Draft ;) Mixing different topics, like a *ekitcho MAGAZINE

Here are some topics I'll try to blog about:

  • Gardening Journal (fresh vegetables, decentralized food :D straight from my garden)
  • Steem blockchain / ecosystem
  • Busy.org vision / perspective
  • Busy organization: Open-decision making Guideline, Workflow (Agile/Scrum custom) Guideline
  • User experience debate on Steem
  • Altcoin/Cryptocurrencies, market analysis, competitive intelligence for other blockchain social media projects, etc.
  • Politics/Philosophy/Governance/Democracy/Decentralization
  • etc.

Let's start with the Hardfork and some Gardening ep.1



HARDFORK & VOTING EXPERIENCE

I think this Hardfork19 is bringing a totally new Voting experience, giving SteemPower holders more voting power and impact than before.
Votes have now more impact on unvoted content, and less on voted content as well.

With Busy.org we initially started with a simple LIKE/DISLIKE for upvote/downvote, without any voting % level (-100/0/100), to make it easier and taking the time to define good User Experience and UI for this voting feature as it depends on the blockchain positioning and hardforks.
Voting target has changed which means if you use Steemit, eSteem, chainbb etc. you can lower percentage of voting to meet the number of votes you can do per day. On busy.org it just means you can now cast less vote per day (at 100%), but can check the Voting Power directly on your profile.
--
To catch up with daily auto-recharge of voting power you would
Previously: 40 votes per day with 100% weight
Now: 10 votes per day with 100% weight
(thanks @good-karma for the information. Everyone should test eSteem his awesome app!)
In order to vote 40 times you should use 25% weight now.
--

I really like the way @jesta is proposing it with chainbb as well
Pasted image at 2017_06_20 23_58.png
After jesta UI/UX test!
babysteemstats.giftest:

At Busy.org, we're discussing how to manage this voting power and deliver a good user experience for you guys. There are many ideas and design suggestion, and I'm sure we will find out the best solution after being able to consider the real impact of this HF and all the possibilities.

Today I suggested an idea where a user could actually estimate the vote reward in $ before casting the vote. It would actually allow a different voting experience and more accurate or help new users to understand relation between SP and voting power. @fabien, @sekhmet and @itsyogesh all came with different ideas and solutions we're debating.

I'm confident that this HF will bring a lot of new users and incentivize to have SP and participate in the platform. This is nothing compare to the potential of "Communities" and "community-token + DEX, with Steem as base currency". Steem is definitely one of the best blockchain & cryptocurrency project running a working product for more than a year, being scalable with a great and talented community! The potential is huge...

There're many things about Busy I want to talk on my personal blog, and I'll take time to help you understand everything we're working on, new team, new designs, new release soon, so exciting ;)

  • new design
  • new strategy
  • new workflow (scrum based)
  • new team members
  • etc.


GARDENING - GROW YOUR OWN FOOD

I started a nice garden to grow my own food. Vegetables & fruits. I've seen some nice posts on Steem and it looks like you guys like it, so I'll definitely blog about that and explain my technique and post pictures.

There's a purpose to each of these 'rules' and together they make up a powerful and almost fail-safe method for successful gardening. It's a great method for new gardeners, people who have little time, and yield/quality can't be more awesome.

I use a Square Gardening method, growing in wood-Grow-box

  • can be built almost anywhere.
  • keep the hard subsoil damp and soft, allowing roots to penetrate subsoil.
  • are not dependent on condition of local soils (less need to know about nutrient deficiencies or methods for improving problem soils).
  • provide perfect drainage and aeration for roots and balanced feeding of plants.
  • extend growing season, since artificial soils warm up quickly in springtime, boosting growth.
  • act as a temperature regulator, since artificial soils keep roots cool in the summer.
  • take up less space than regular soil.
  • greatly reduce or eliminate weeds.

Some pics when I started 2 months ago

carrek0.jpg

carreek.jpg

carreek2.jpg

gardenek.jpg

gardenek2.jpg

I have broccoli, lettuce, onions, tomatoes, melon, parsley, cabbage, cucumber, basil, strawberry, etc. Every day I have free fruits & vegetables, almost without any work... Will give you update and pictures of results
#FOODHACKER

Hard fork your life and make a clear consensus between your mind and body, eat healthy food grown by your own, decentralize For a better life ;)

That's all for today, see you in the next episode


Sort:  

Nice to have you back blogging mate. I really love your gardening efforts. I failed with a lavender growing kit last month and I'm eager to try again with more knowledge. I can see you are growing everything that I like in my salad :D

You can come eat ;)
welcome in FR

Haha I would love to travel to France for salad ;-)

Please do, @ekitcho. I can't wait to see what you have to offer!

Thanks
@abn

Same here, before it was like each of my votes and votes of my followers were so useless. Now I feel the power.

Enjoy your power, but power also means abuse, means Control. ;)

I just abused my power to give you 5 cts lol

new follower here. i like your gardening topics.

Great article bro! Nice pics too ;)!

Glad to have you back. I just made a list of topics I want to write about on here, too. It's good to have a plan to put out quality content on a regular basis and develop a readership.

I don't really understand all the numbers associated with the hard fork, but I did notice my next two payouts increased dramatically, which is always pleasing. I tried what you suggested in this post and used my slider for the first time ever (I always used to just throw 100% votes around like they were candy), and even with adjusting it to 25%, it still made a noticeable difference in the payout. So, thank you for explaining the numbers part. There's a reason I chose a college major that didn't involve math. :)

Yes having a plan is the key. Manage the process, not the outcome; the outcome will take care of itself. ;)

you're welcome! everyone should be involved in math. Math is life <3
The problem in my opinion for so many ppl, is the way math was taught to the young students.. (might be wrong though)

the gardening stuff really appeals to me, i'd like that kinda stuff as like mini walkthrough videos - maybe you should make it as a cheap series to sell on gumroad or something like that?

i'll think about it ;) thanks

you are really busy. I liked that traddormation from hard fork talk to gardening. Looking forward for more.

hard fork your life and make a clear consensus between your mind and body, eat healthy food grown by your own, decentralize For a better life ;)

well said, almost poetic

Thanks for the post. I am an amatuer gardener. My wife and I have made it a priority to learn how to grow our own food. Seeing posts like yours really are an inspiration. Thanks @ekitcho.

very nice! You can start right now, it's very easy to learn, pick your method (mine is Square foot gardening), and learn how it works by doing it. good luck mate

I'm sorry to hear about your Grandfather. I think the idea that you can help someone who passed get to heaven is very interesting! Certainly cathartic if nothing else, but I hope it is true as well.

I'm still a bit new and don't know what Busy is yet, but I'll be checking it out.

thanks for your support, i found this idea very interesting as well even if i define myself more like atheist, i actually did like doing it for him and the family

Busy is an alternative entry to the steem blockchain, just like steemit.com, esteem, or chainbb are.

We are more focus into building this Facebook-killer all-in-one platform app based on the Steem blockchain, with a new user experience, design, and features. For now it's still in beta, and a new release with new design is coming soon. You can read more at @busy.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75