Steemit Name Challenge - Why Eagle Spirit?

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

image

If you have ever had the pleasure of reading Romeo and Juliet, then you may know that Shakespeare wrote the above in Act II, Scene II when Juliet expresses her love for Romeo and implying his name has nothing to do with their love. Since the Montague's and Capulets despised one another.

For many, a name is just a label and has no real worth. According to Juliet if we call a rose by another name it still holds the same scent. In my ancestry, a name means quite a bit and it is this that identifies who we are and where we come from, but in the end we are who we are meant to be.

Page Break STEEM.png

I would like to thank my number one supporter and adopter @preparedwombat for all he has done for me, and that includes tagging me in this challenge. I'd like to complain and stomp my feet in protest but at the end of the day, I do not mind sharing how I come by my name Eagle Spirit.

If you have not had the chance to read a combination of my Native American lineage and my name read here.

The Rules

  • Tell us how you chose your current Steemit Username. The story behind it.
  • Tell us your real name.
  • If you could change your current Username, which name would you choose and why?
  • If you have a "change of heart" usernames list, mention it.
  • Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that all the posts can be tracked.
  • Nominate 5 people for this challenge.

Nominations

  1. @spiritualmax. I hardly ever tag you in a challenge so make it happen!
  2. @underground. Dolphin Daddy needs to come clean and let us know how he came by his name.
  3. @anjkara. My Savage girl tell us more about your name.
  4. @soulturtle. I have missed you my friend and this would be a great way for Steemit and I to get to know you better.
  5. @happycrazycon. This lovely angel is one of my newest friends but she is lovely and this would be a great way to get to know her better too.

Page Break STEEM.png

image

The story behind my name

I come from a long line of eagles, there is an ancient Native American clan by the name of eagle and this is my tribe. It was a very easy choice for me to choose this name since I am in training for a medicine woman.

My family Hopi and Apache tradition holds fast to keeping the eagle sacred and within our people and the name is Kwaangyam or Qua-wungwa. The eagle is associated with being a warrior and being courageous. For a woman, there is a connection to healing and powerful medicine.

Page Break STEEM.png

image

My real name

My name is Casandra and my mother named me after the famous Greek prophetess. She spelled my name with one “s” so that I would remain unique and roll the “r” as the Spanish culture does. As was explained to me, she felt that I would be able to warn those around me when any danger would come about, unfortunately just like the Greek prophetess, most do not believe! Thus, the tragedy of my story.

Page Break STEEM.png

If I could change my Steemit Username what would it be?

Honestly, I would not change it as it has become a respectable name here on Steemit. I have worked hard to keep it real and produce quality content and originality. It might be true that regardless of the name, just like the rose mentioned earlier a rose still keeps its sweet smell, I would still reach out to the world with my Eagle Spirit and you would still see Me. Peace.

Image sources for Shakespeare, Eagle, and Cassandra.

Page Break STEEM.png

@EagleSpiritCommentUpvoteResteem.png

DQmTExCr2XkLNUiXoERBpRa5GHZEUmWqjC6i2i9oibvvBr2.gif

Sort:  

Because ES fits you so well!!!

I would not change that !

thank you MAve!!!!! xoxo

oh wow, thanks for sharing. this kind of post comes in handy for those just know u. well, although i've been following u for quite awhile and i know your username has a lot to do with what u post, reading this is still good because it's like getting to understanding u a bit more, each post is like a different tone, it is still refreshing to know how the username derives. nevertheless, keep it up!

Hi Asia! Thank you so much for your continued love and support. You are a gem and I love getting to know you better too. You know what this means, you may get tagged! :p

I will be ready for them =D

oh mannnn i forgot to tag you!! eeeekkk

Both your names are beautiful with so much meaning behind them. I've realized that most Indian names mean something literal. As I'm used to thinking in English it's not as apparent, but there's something beautiful in addressing people as light, sky, prayer and other such names. As I've been tagged, I'm off to do my version of this post.

yay!! i cant wait to read it and thank you!! :)

I loved your name. I did kind of figure it had to do with your ancestry, but very nice to know more about it. It also sounds like your mom made sure your namesake would be someone you might want to look up to.

Sorry that most don't believe. Wish people would be more open minded. Thank you for sharing your story :)

awww you are so sweet! thank you so mcih for your comment and support. :)

eaglespirit and Cassandra are beautiful names, and I was intrigued by your Native American roots. This is just from your photo. I hope you share this part of you with us. And yes, it was clear to me when I first encountered your presence on Steemit that you are a genuine supporter of quality content. I’m a believer! Hehe :)

Yay Linny! Thank you for your comment and I’m so happy to find a believer. Hugs and blessings to you.

You got a 10.12% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @eaglespirit!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Love both your names ES! I think they are both pretty! They all both suit you well.

Thank you sweet Dawn! You are so kind :)

Well I wouldn't change a thing if I were you. Isn't it interesting to find out about the history of your name. I love ancestry...one of my passions..

Thank you so much! Yes ancestry is very special. :)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66