The making of friendship

in #busy7 years ago

My Early Friends



I grew up to know alot of people older than me as friends...
Take for instance, I was called up to join the group of drummers in my primary(elementary) school in grade 2, when the school has three arms in each grade from grades 1 to 6. This elevated me to having "seniors" as my friends.
In my church back then "The Apostolic Church" in Delta state, I started playing the drum set in my local church in grade 4...
As musicians do, we all became friends (guitarists, keyboardist, saxophonist, trumpeter etc). These were big guys... but little me was their drummer. We always shook hands and related as peers.

My school Friends


When I got into secondary school, The trend continued and my mates always looked up to me as the big boy amongst them because I flowed with the seniors. The girls were always there.... (topic for another day). All through my higher institution, I had school and music related friends but none could be considered as a best friend. What brought us together was education and after each level of education was completed, we kinda drifted apart.

My Best Friend


I came across this boy, (younger than myself) He was in his final year of secondary school while I was trying to find my feet living all alone with no support(if you know what I mean).
They say... "tell me your friend and I'll tell you who you are". This saying is not totally true but it is true to some extent (from my experience)
This guy has been my closest friend for 18 years...
I call him "THE GOVERNOR"... I think the main thing we have in common is the love the opposite sex.... (I just realized this while writing this script.)
I was trying to settle down as a bachelor. I rented a room apartment. His parents, with whom he stayed were my neighbors. He became close to me because he was used to helping me run errands and chores. As a result he had unrestricted access to my apartment to the extent of bringing his secondary school girls to make love to them in my room. Since I love such runs and had no problem with it, we liked each other and became close gradually.
Apart from this... We are two very different people. Can you believe that?
He talks much more than I do, He likes sleep more than I do, He likes food to the extent of begging for it if need be...(Mind you, I have my own flaws that puts him off too, I am not a saint) I like football
...but He doesn't like sports at all only home videos (if we are both home alone, when he watches TV I sleep, When I watch sports on TV he sleeps) That is my closest friend. But as the saying goes " the devil you know is better than the Angel you don't know"
Love or friendship shouldn't be about finding the best person but choosing to love a person despite their defects and focusing on what both of you share that makes you happy.

The Governor

as I call him is a guy I've come to love as a best friend.

My Partner in crime


Our love for the opposite sex is unraveled. I call him "The Governor" as "The Governor Of Women Affairs". I think our love for the opposite sex is what we built our friendship upon and it has been a very strong bond that our individual defects can't break.

Valuable advice on Friendships


I want you to appreciate the close friends you have because they too are putting up with your defects(we all have things that our friends bear) to make your friendship work. You too should put up with what your friends do. Simply tolerate each other and allow the things that you have in common shine through and bound you with your friends.


Thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66