Easy Yummy Probiotic Mayo!

in #busy7 years ago

Back on the old homestead, we had ducks. We started out with quite a variety. We had some Swedish Blues, Mallards, and Muscovies. Eventually, we re-homed the Blues. They were just a bit too quacky, which wouldn’t have been a problem, had they not decided to congregate right outside my bedroom window early each morning. While I love the sound of birds, the timing and the sheer volume just weren’t a good match.

On the other hand, I was quite fond of our Muscovy ducks and do hope to add some to our homestead in the near future. They’re just so fun to have around. They make the cutest hissing and cooing noises and they’re just all-around cool birds. I love to watch them swaggering around in their sleek black feathers as though they were wearing trenchcoats and their beautiful red masks and hair-like feathers on their heads. We actually had one we called Elvis for this reason.

The ducklings were so fun to have around! I’m can't remember what the story was with the shoe in the background, but I’m sure there were muddy footprints in the cabin as a result…

But the best part of having ducks was the eggs. I am an egg fan. I could eat them every day, and believe me, I almost do. But duck eggs are richer, or as my daughter has always described them, sweeter. One of my favorite things to make with them was Duck Egg Fermented Mayo. So tasty and healthy!

While I don’t have ducks right now, our Icelandic hens are laying very well. We are getting between 7-9 eggs a day with a flock of 10 hens. With this abundance, I decided we needed to make some probiotic mayo goodness! It has been a couple years since I made homemade mayo so I decided to look up the recipe and used the following link as a guide.
https://traditionalcookingschool.com/food-preparation/recipes/lacto-fermented-mayonnaise/

If you haven’t visited this site before, it’s a must! Great info and delicious recipes!

Homemade Mayonnaise (Fermenting optional)

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 1 tblsp raw apple cider vinegar
  • ½ tsp salt (We like our mayo a bit saltier so I may have doubled this)
  • 1 Tbsp raw sauerkraut juice
  • 1 cup organic expeller or cold-pressed oils (I used avocado, grapeseed and olive)

    You can do this in a high powered blender, like the Vitamix, but mine is quite broad at the bottom, requiring more volume to really fill it enough to blend properly. Many have success with a food processor, but I chose to use my immersion blender in a quart jar.

    Blend the first 5 ingredients. Then slowly drizzle in the oil while blending. Be patient. If you dump in all the oil at once, it’s very hard to get the proper emulsion.

Since I had both hands full, I had a volunteer photographer in Wildstyle, which was especially kind since she can’t have egg right now, but I think she did a pretty good job!
If you want to add some probiotic goodness, then leave the mayo out in a jar, tightly sealed, for 7-8 hours before refrigerating.


Life as @crowbarmama is a lot like spinning plates in a circus act. I have to wait until I have a really good rhythm before adding a new one or else everything falls apart. With water kefir, goat milk kefir and beet kvass goinng on the counter, I haven't been able to add sauerkraut into the mix, even though it's easy and delicious. In the meanwhile, we’re enjoying this yummy sauerkraut and Wildstyle doesn’t react to it, Yay!

One of my jars didn’t even make it to the fridge! My 5 yr old, who has been avoiding anything green lately, actually ate a few carrot and celery sticks dipped in this goodness!
YAY!!

I chose @Crowbarmama as a handle because I believe in doing the best you can with what you have on hand. The crowbar is a multi-purpose tool. You’ll notice my photography is a bit rough, my gammar is not the most polished, but as a homeschooling, homesteading mama of 4, if I waited to take my photos until the light was perfect or re-edited my posts a 5th time ( I shoot for 3 drafts), I would never get a post out!

Don’t sweat the small stuff, just Crowbar it!

If you like what you're reading, please upvote and subscribe! Also, I love feedback! Constructive criticism is one of the best ways to grow. I want to know what you think!

Sort:  

This looks so good, healthy and tasty :)

Thank you! It's definitely healthier than any mayo you'll find at the store! And according to my kids tastier too! I hope you try it. Thanks for stopping by!

It is Delish! Me and my siblings the @crowbarkids LOVED IT!! @snowgo ate it all evening

Ooo I'm definitely adding sauerkraut juice to my next batch, I use avocado oil and immersion blender as well! You can add a Tblsp of whey as a preservative it will last a few more weeks, but as you say, the scavengers always get it before it's too late!

The sauerkraut juice is also supposed to act as a preservative, although I kind of question whether it would be as effective as the whey.

Darn scavengers! Good thing they're cute!!

This looks dreamy! Our good friend Amelia made some mayo the other day and it was delightful. The sauerkraut juice is such an innovative addition. Thanks for the inspiration. We're looking to boost our flock and we'll keep this in mind when we have too many eggs.

Not sure what your winters are like, but we're really liking our Icelandic hens. They are actively laying throughout the winter. You might look into them and see if it would be a good fit for adding to your flock?

Love it that the little one ate the greens (and oranges) with the mayo - great way to get the veges in :)

Sometimes being@crowbarmama involves stealth and cunning, other times it's as simple as yummy condiments!

This sounds like a recipe I need to make. Looks easy enough to make. How long will it keep in the refrigerator?

Good question. In my house it lasts as long as I can keep it hidden from the scavengers...um, I mean children. 🤣

Seriously, by fermenting it you extend the shelf life. I've read it will keep at least 2 weeks that way. I doubt I'll ever know for certain, unless I make a quadruple batch!

Ha Ha! Very funny Mom.😉

We have never been much fans of mayo or miracle whip, but this looks interesting. I may give it a try when the neighbors gift us a dozen duck eggs later this year!

Thanks for the idea and recipe!
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61