Newbie steemit rountable steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

About two weeks ago, I told you about how a local successful steemian, @hilarski, took the time to talk to 10-20 newbies, including me, about his experiences and what has worked for him on his #Steemit journey.

This time @deborahlindsey invited me to host a newbie steemit roundtable where we discussed several topics of interest for those who are starting their journey on the platform.

 

Photo credit: @ommmsome

First, we talked about what the blockchain tech is, and what cryptocurrencies are so we could understand what Steemit is actually built on. Then, we would start delving into what we were most interested, and that is how works the platform works and what steps you can take to thrive on the platform.

For the sake of transparency, I started off by telling everyone that I have invested a little bit into steemit; however, it does not have to be the case for them or for anybody. You can build from the ground up, but it will be a bit longer process. Then, we talked about the process of setting your basic info, profile and cover picture. Also, we discussed how steem, steem power, and SBD works. It was very important for everybody to understand the system and its limitations, especially when you are starting on the platform. @increasefreedom helped us understand the difference between these, and he shared a bit of his knowledge on cryptos.

After having the basics down, we explored how to post, and how to use the HTLM and Markdown to make your post look a little bit more pleasing to the eye. I suggested the busy.org app, so they could have a friendlier UI to work with

I was also fortunate to learn a thing or two from the ones present at the roundtable such as @ommmsome, @lilbeet, @alibelone and @lucearejun. In fact, The ideas and info were flowing among attendees.

It is safe to say that it was a pretty great day! Hopefully, Everyone who attended this meetup got more excited about posting and growing on the platform. I have to say that I feel quite bullish about steemit!

Oh, on my way back home, I witnessed this gorgeous sunset! I hope you like it! 

 


Follow me on:

Steemit --> https://steemit.com/@clivealb

Instagram --> https://www.instagram.com/cliveengcorner

Facebook --> https://www.facebook.com/CliveEngCorner/

G+ --> https://plus.google.com/+cliveluzardo 

Twitter --> https://twitter.com/CliveALB 


Want to work on your English chops? Check this out!

-->https://letsmasterenglish.com/free<--

Sort:  

Thanks for coaching us today, Clive! I'll look into that busy.org.

Thanks for the recap. Still dont know how to upvote you but guess its the topic for our next meeting! So much to learn!

Excellent @clivealb!!! I will try to be in the next meetup ;)

It was a great time! Glad to talk about the finer details of Steem!

Thank you so much, was really useful ☺

your initiative is very good, you help to grow the community I congratulate you ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45