GO FOR IT! steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys welcome to another Clive's English Corner post!

Today we will explore a bit of one of my biggest passions which is music. However, it all ends up in a valuable lesson that you can take for your language learning journey, so bear with me.

For the past year and a half, I have been performing music shows all around Panama, Panama. All these shows were performed with a cover band called Frag Music, Frag as in fragment, and we were a pretty tight unit. The team was a well-oiled machine with my friend Andres on percussion and sound engineering, Alejandro on the keyboards and bass, Francis as a lead singer, and myself on the guitar and vocals. We had a pretty long and successful run. Unfortunately, they had to abruptly leave the country; for various reasons, leaving me bandless and a bit discouraged from playing shows around the city.

A few weeks after they all left, a friend of mine reaches out and tells me that they are going to celebrate a few employees' birthdays at the office, and they wanted someone to perform a few songs. My first reaction was to come up with a few "buts" because I did not have my band anymore and how could I possibly do it by myself right? Nonetheless, she insisted and offered pretty decent payment, so I agreed and said, "I am going to go for it". 

The little acoustic show was a complete success. It was without any mics, speakers, o anything. It was just my voice, my guitar,myself. Everyone loved what I had to offer! they were very pleased! I received a bunch great reactions, and a few others were interested in contacting me for future shows. 

So, I can say for sure that I am very glad that I said to myself, "go for it". It worked out for the best, and I would have never known if I had never taken the leap! 

Now, what does this have to do with English Learning? It is quite simple. As a foreign language learner, your motto should be "go for it" Why? because it does not matter how much you practice and learn on your own if you do not put it to use. Next time you have an opportunity to engage with a speaker of your target language, go for it!

Interacting with others and actually using this new language is what will help you to keep, and grow, this acquired ability. Trial and error will teach you way more than what any movie or tutorial could. Besides, what is the worst it could happen? getting corrected? GREAT! YOU'LL LEARN MORE! 

There you have it guys! Stop being afraid of speaking the language you are learning, and just GO FOR IT!



Follow me on:

Steemit --> https://steemit.com/@clivealb

Instagram --> https://www.instagram.com/cliveengcorner

Facebook --> https://www.facebook.com/CliveEngCorner/

G+ --> https://plus.google.com/+cliveluzardo 

Twitter --> https://twitter.com/CliveALB 


Want to work on your English chops? Check this out!

-->https://letsmasterenglish.com/free<--

 

Sort:  

Let me know whenever you have a gig open to the public. I'd love to see you play again!

I will be playing a show with Sandrine on Sat 24th. at Lounge Bella vista!

Sorry! I meant Saturday 24th!

got it on my calendar :)

Excelente me fuera gustado escuchar la música, bendiciones para ti...

Seguramente estaré publicando algun video en el futuro! Gracias por tus buenos deseos! Lo mismo para tí!

Go for it, is some good advice there! Upvoted :)

Thanks for always stopping by upvoting and leaving a comment! I really appreciate it!

Great philosophy for your success @clivealb well done your great energy is being heard too 😊 wishing you great success

Thank you! I enjoy your posts greatly! You're living the life!! Enjoying freedom!

Blessings to us all @clivealb
Have a brilliant week my friend 😊

Great story! Thanks for sharing! I still want to hear you play bro! We'll see if we can make it this weekend. We may be going to Boquete next weekend.

Thanks for setting the example of just going for it! It's a great message! Keep going man! I'm right there with ya!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by CliveALB from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43