You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thrift Store Treasures: Music, Books, and an Unexpected Surprise!

in #busy7 years ago

I have at one time or another owned four of the five albums on vinyl or cd. Somehow I've never heard of Bill Evans. That Fender piano is familiar though. Wonderful sound. I think my favourite Miles is Sketches of Spain, but they are all good. Take Five/BlueRonda a la Turk was on the jukebox at my local diner when I was a young hippie. I recognised the cover but don't remember Jimmy Smith so a trip down memory lane is in order this weekend. If @enchantedspirit complains it's your fault. Stan Getz and Oscar Peterson are both brilliant - nuff said.

Speaking of jazz piano, Have you met Fats Waller? If not, allow me to introduce you: Ethan, Fats; Fats, Ethan.
https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=fats+waller&qpvt=fats+waller&FORM=VDRE

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Sort:  

Thanks for the recommendation! I think I would enjoy listening to these albums on vinyl, but jazz albums like these are some of the most expensive and rare vinyl albums to find these days.

I remember I was in a record shop in Raleigh, NC when I first heard the Lee Morgan album I linked to in this post playing over the in-store speaker system. I went up and asked the guy at the counter what the music was, and he reached behind to the record player, grabbed the album art, showed it to me and said "It's not for sale." Of course I immediately downloaded the mp3 version on my Amazon music, and the remastered version sounds incredible, but there's just something about listening on vinyl.

Anyhow, thanks for your other comments. I've always enjoyed Bill Evans, and I've listened to the Oscar Peterson album now, and I'll be listening to it again.

Blame me all you want if you get in trouble with @enchantedspirit. I always love introducing people to new music.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39