You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GLUTEN-FREE Sourdough Shenanigans!

in #busy6 years ago

Am I reading this right that you can make GF SD using whole wheat flour and water?

I tried some traditionally made sourdough and didn't have any digestive issues from it but that was a few years ago now. I would love to learn to make some fresh bread for myself. And sourdough PIZZA dough? I had no idea that was even possible! I am totally bookmarking this post! -Aimee

Sort:  

Gluten-free sourdough using teff and cassava. (Initially the GF starter was strictly teff, I started using cassava a few days later.) Now, to give myself something to compare it to, I also started up a traditional sourdough using whole wheat and sprouted spelt flours.

I am always in such a rush to type before one of the kids wakes up that I may have made it unclear in the article and I apologize for that. However, I have read of individuals who thought they were sensitive to gluten, realizing they were perhaps sensitive to GMO processed wheat instead and for these folks, using an ancient grain like kamut, einkorn or even sprouted spelt in a well-soured sourdough was a success!

Now if you can do oats, then you could use oat and teff flours together and make a pretty tasty GF SD! My daughter can't even have GF oats right now, so it's teff, cassava and sprouted brown rice for us.

Oh and the sprouting also helps a lot of folks so that they can tolerate the grain better. Let me know if I can answer anything else. 😁

And yeah, the pizza dough is so easy you'll never go out for pizza again.

Thanks for the clarification! That's what I thought but I am also usually reading articles after a long day of chasing babies, right when my brain feels like it's short circuiting.

I suspect there may be something other than gluten intolerance happening for me. Between the sprays and processing there are so many factors to consider.

I would love to have delicious pizza dough again. -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59