Life Hack - Hamburger Meat

in #busy5 years ago

If you're anything like us you buy in bulk and then struggle to make it all fit in the freezer and refrigerator when you get home. I'm sure I'm not the first person to do this but I did feel pretty clever when I thought about it.
We use hamburger a lot for spaghetti or Hamburger Helper so we typically buy the ten pound pack because it's more cost efficient.

But who seriously has a freezer this large?? Okay, yes, there are deep freezers but right now we have the usual one.
IMG_3133.jpg

There is no way this massive hunk of meat is going to fit in my freezer, and not I'm not talking about @entrepreneur916 lol
Our freezer is already decently full of other valuable protein so there's no option of cutting things out. Well Maybe @entrepreneur916 's mostly eaten ice cream should probably just be finished haha
IMG_3134.jpg

So here is how I solve it...
A food scale
and
One quart freezer bags (I took a picture of the wrong bags, sorry, I'm tired)
IMG_3136.jpg

I then use the food scale and a tupperware to portion 1 (one) pound increments into the baggies...
IMG_3137.jpg

And then I get out some aggression and squash them like the souls of the undead...
IMG_3138.jpg

And like magic they fit in a perfect little stack in the freezer.
This also makes it SOOOO much faster to defrost them.
And, no, I have no idea where the ice cream went...
IMG_3139.jpg

Sort:  

Wow I would have never imagined splitting them up into separate packages would help so much. Next time I cook I'll be sure to keep that in mind thank you for the tip.

Awesome! I'm so glad this reached someone! I've been doing this for a while now and kept thinking I should share it. Let me know how it goes!!!

I mos def will let you know. Just have to get the meat first. And maybe some forks finally so I don't live off plastic ones anymore lol.

Nice tube of mystery meat...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78