Bozzlife: Another DIY Coat Rack

in #busy5 years ago

image001.jpg


Quite some time ago I made a very similar coat rack for the area in our basement where we enter from the garage. I think I wrote a post about it back then, but I am not going to take the time to dig back and look for it.

The other day @mrsbozz was talking about how she would like to have a coat rack for our bedroom closet. She asked if I could make another one to put up in there and since I love playing with power tools I was more than happy to oblige.

I am not that creative, so most of my designs are pretty industrial in nature. I also do not have a router so this means most of my work is very angular with sharp edges and clean lines. My good friend's dad has a custom cabinet shop, so I could go there to make all of my stuff, but sometimes the drive isn't worth it and I enjoy working in my own space.

image002.jpg


I went to the local home improvement store and picked up the lumber I needed. This was the same day we picked up the cement blocks for our makeshift shelves I wrote about a week or two ago. I only needed to make one cut on each board to get them down to the size I needed for the coat rack.

It is a pretty easy design with just two 1 x 3" boards and a 1 x 2" board.

I ran some glue down the edge of one of the 1 x 3's and then clamped them together to hold them while I used my dad's brad gun to put tack them together.

image014.jpg


image004.jpg


Once everything is dried and held together well, it is simply a matter of placing the 1 x 2 into the right angle created by the two 1 x 3's.

image005.jpg


I don't attach anything with the 1 x 2 yet because I need to allow for my "pegs" that the coats will hang on. I simply line everything up and make the marks where I want my four "pegs" to go.

image006.jpg


Then I need to decide how low on the board I want the "pegs" to be and I make my marks to drill my hole. If I had a drill press it would come in really handy at this point to make sure the holes I drill are straight, but I don't have one, so I just have to freehand it.

image007.jpg

image008.jpg


With the holes drilled through both the 1 x 2 and the backing 1 x 3, I now need to drill out a larger hole in the 1 x 3 to make a cavity for the nut that will hold the "peg". This is why I didn't attach the 1 x 2 in that earlier step.

image009.jpg


I put a larger wood bit in my drill and again freehand the holes.

image010.jpg


I obviously kind of suck freehanding the larger holes. It looks like I might be visually impaired or something. It is okay, because I have my Dremel rotary tool to make everything all better.

image012.jpg

image013.jpg


As you can see in the picture below, using the sandpaper disc made everything all better!

image011.jpg


It is at this point that I run some glue along the 1 x 3 backer and attach the 1 x 2 to it making sure that I line up the holes. I clamp it down for a couple of minutes and run some more brads into it to hold it secure while the glue dries.

Wood glue is pretty amazing these days. My friend who knows as much about woodworking as anyone I know told me once: If you take two boards and glue them together edge to edge, wait for it to dry and then try to break them apart, you will probably break the wood down the grain before you break the bond the glue made. That is pretty impressive.

image015.jpg


Like I said, I am pretty industrial so my "pegs" as I have been calling them are actually just carriage bolts with lock nuts and washers on the back and regular nuts and washers on the front.

image016.jpg


You can see creating that cavity in the back for the lock washer and nut will allow the coat rack to lay flat against the wall.

image017.jpg


Finally, we have the finished product. I need to give it a good coat of stain or paint (probably something I should have done before I put the "pegs" in).

It is going to look really nice hanging in the closet and it will serve its function very well.

Thanks for stopping in! All pictures were taken by yours truly!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

I love functional!!! It can be as pretty as can be, but, if it is only pretty, pfft! Give me a little function, and I'm all good.

Great job and thanks for the step by step!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

!tip

No problem, thanks for the great comment. I should be highlighting another project I did over break within this next week.

Awesome! Don't forget to drop the link so I see it! ;)

Will do!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 2.78% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: On The Fourth Day Of Christmas Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 24000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @bozz!

Your post was featured on our daily build newsletter! We've sent 100 liquid BUILD tokens to your wallet upon which you can sell, trade or buy on steem engine or SteemLeo. We've also shared your work on our Facebook, and Twitter pages for more exposure.

Keep sharing your awesome DIY and How-to tutorials together with the recommended tags #diy, #build-it, #how-to, #doityourself, #build as well as posting from our website

Login our website to claim your rewards!

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50