Pressured in Every Way—Is It Possible To Enjoy Life In This Chaotic World?

in #busy6 years ago

There is an endless list of tasks waiting for you. Your life seems like water in a basin—your sick parent needs attention, you have to move to a new location, find new customers, make new friends, and face new challenges. You are angry with yourself because you don’t finish what you start. Moreover, you bought a new laptop, which you feel you don't need. You feel bad because you have failed to learn self-control, which you believe is the reason you keep messing up.

Pressed in every

Sometimes I am in a situation similar to the one described above. I feel as if life is controlling me. Life can be hectic these days. The only sure thing is change, which forces adjustments we don’t like. You make a budget, but you fail to stick to it. You feel pressed left, light and center. Do you sometimes feel that way? If so how can you enjoy life in this chaotic world?

Willie Nelson said: "I live one day at a time, one day at a time. Yesterday's gone and tomorrow is blind, so I live one day at a time.” For me, I concentrate on what is on hand. I don’t try to enjoy the day, but what I am doing right now. Yes, I enjoy life as it comes. Right now I am enjoying striking the keys on my laptop.

True I plan, and budget but I try not to be anxious about the next hour. An earthquake, a gunman, a tsunami, a terrorist attack can spoil things in no time. Fortunately, bad guys are not on the rampage every day, at least not in the same location. Who knows? Life is unpredictable. So I enjoy living in the moment, I don’t know what will happen next!

Forget the digital world for a while. Think and ponder about what you are touching right now. Is it smooth or rough? Look at things and appreciate their beauty. When you eat, do not chew and swallow your food in haste. Hold it a little bit longer in the mouth. Is it a glass of wine that you are sipping? Try to move it around in your mouth and feel the taste. Listen to the different sounds around you and pick out a particular one you like. Is it rhythmic or changing all the time?

If you implement the above tips life will be more fun amid the daily chaos. The stress, the change, and the pain will not go away, but life will become more meaningful, pleasurable and less stressful. You will begin to appreciate things that you have not given much attention before. You will understand the touch of your loved one, the taste of your favorite drink, and the flowers in the garden outside your office. Do the above everyday and life will be more enjoyable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79