DIY | To the Rescue! | Can you do it? Yes you can!

in #busy6 years ago

IMG_0360.JPG

Good morning fellow Steemians!

As part of my quest toward better eating and living for 2018 I continue to search for ways I can improve my nutrition. Informative and inspirational posts from fellow Steemians has been invaluable! Adding more fruits and vegetables to the diet has made me feel amazing. Reducing breads, heavy carbs and sugar has resulted in more energy and even weight loss! As the saying goes, we are what we eat!

Greens! We all know greens are good for us, can’t have too many green vegetables! We need to grow and eat more greens! Even if you don't have a large piece of land you can still grow some of your own foods!

Today, thanks to @mountainjewels book “Sprouts, Live well with Living Food” and their most recent workshop video here, I have decided to dip my toe into the world of sprouting!

How many of you are familiar with Wheatgrass?

IMG_3960.JPG

What is Wheatgrass?

Wheatgrass is the seed leaf which eventually grows into wheat.

Wheatgrass is amazing for our health!

• Wheatgrass contains 70% chlorophyll which has the same chemical makeup as our own blood! (It is sometimes known as green blood).

• Studies have shown Wheatgrass aids in creating red blood cells, increases our hemoglobin both helpful in fighting cancer and healing wounds.

• Wheatgrass has found to be beneficial in combating chronic diseases like asthma, Parkinsons, joint pain, high blood pressure and obesity.

• Wheatgrass contains enzymes which are linked to slowing the aging process. (Some have even said Wheatgrass claimed to prevent gray hair- although not proven by studies)

• Wheatgrass is high in Antitoxins, helps cleanse the liver and helps remove bacteria producing toxins which produce tooth decay.

The list is long…I could go on all day about additional health benefits. For me, it makes perfect sense to add it to my diet.
source
.

It’s so simple! You can buy this in powder form but as I said, I would like to produce it myself! And to have it fresh!

You can too! Just follow along with me!

IMG_3967.JPG

I used organic Wheat grass seeds, a Sproutamo Sprouter and a decorative indoor pot as a planter!
I washed the seeds well, placed them in a bowl, covered with water and place in a dark location for 8 hours. Rinse well and drain. The Sproutamo Sprouter allows the water to drain off the seeds which is crucial. You don’t want the seeds sitting in any water. If you don’t have a sprouter you can use a colander suspended in a bowl too!

Rinse and drain seeds 2-3 times per day for the next 2 days.

This is what they looked like after day 2.

IMG_3743.JPG

After day 3 we planted the sprouted seeds in a very thin layer of soil

And now!

IMG_3950.JPG

So now that we have Wheatgrass what can we do with it?

Well, it's great in a juice or smoothie! So let's make one!

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons Wheatgrass
  • ½ avocado
  • 1 mango
  • 2 apples
  • 1 cup spinach
  • Almond milk
  • 1 lemon
    Blend or juice all together

Now we have a super green drink to start your day! Add Wheatgrass to all of your smoothies, just snip off and throw in the blender when making your drink!

IMG_0361.JPG

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you found this helpful today. I would love to hear about your recipes using Wheatgrass! Knowing the benefits to our health makes this an easy add to the decorating scheme.

Although…..I guess I’ll have to learn to share!

IMG_3973.JPG

And as always, blessings to you

Sort:  

AFAC5ED2-99BE-414B-950B-98415F8E6AED.jpeg

Great job! Your post was featured in this week's @the-hearth curation digest featuring stunning earth-centered content on the blockchain.

Thank you so much @the-hearth! I am so honored! You are great teachers!

hahaha even the cat gets in on the action! So what does it taste like? Green? Grass? In the smoothie I mean.

Actually I didn't taste it at all. I think the mango, apples and lemon covered the grass taste. I was surprised. Yes, I couldn't believe the cat was so interested. Good for her digestion as well I guess lol! I just had to share.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 14:59:40
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 148.15/200.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great post about using wheatgrass! Love your combination of your smoothie.

Thank you! I hope you will try it! Its a nice easy add to our foods!

very true, it wouldn´t need much to add it to your daily diet. 🌝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41