DIY | Love Veggie Chips? Why buy them? | Save $$

in #busy6 years ago

IMG_0345.JPG

Good Day my Fellow Steemians!

Nothing like a good plate of Guacamole and Chips, right?

Did you save that Juice Pulp that I mentioned in my last couple of posts?

What does that have to do with Guacamole and Chips? Well hold on…we’ll get to that in a minute.

This morning I made my usual glass of morning veggie and fruit juice using beets, cucumbers, carrots, spinach, apples and lemon. It was wonderful. I had veggie and fruit pulp left over! I don’t want to throw it away. Fruits and vegetables are so expensive!

A couple of days ago I shared Golden Goodness Juice for @lenasveganliving Fruits and Veggies Contest. here

Yesterday I we had a lovely Pineapple Cake for breakfast which I made from Golden Goodness leftover veggie and fruit pulp. here

Today I would like to share another recipe, something most of us love.

Chips!

Buying vegetable chips can be so expensive, easily $4-$5 a bag. Whew! They’re good for you, much better than potato chips. Wouldn’t you like to make them for pennies? Even better, wouldn’t you like a chip made with the vegetables you want to eat?

If so, then come along, it’s so easy! Oh and don’t forget your fruit and veggie pulp!

IMG_3736.JPG

Ingredients:

• ¾ cup veggie and fruit pulp
• 3 Tablespoons flax seeds
• 2 Tablespoons chia seeds
• 2 Tablespoons sunflower seeds
• 1 Tablespoon minced fresh garlic
• 1 Teaspoon Ground Sea Salt
• Dash of ground pepper
• ¾ cup filtered water
Note: Feel free to add/delete spices of your choice. If you like flavored chips try your favorite spices! You can also add juice from lime if you like the salty/lime flavor! I wanted to taste the blend of fruits and veggies so I didn’t add many spices. You’ll have to let me know what you do!

Place all in food processor or blender adding water until a mixture forms a nice paste.

IMG_3738.JPG

Dehydrator:

Spread mixture evenly on dehydrator flexible sheet. Lightly score into 2 inch squares. You may want to flip the sheet over with a second sheet at about 4 hours for even dehydrating. (120 degree setting- 7-8 hours) Dehydrate until very dry!

Oven drying:

Spread mixture over parchment lined cookie sheet evenly. Lightly score into 2 inch squares. Place in the oven at 300 degrees for about 45 minutes. Check often, don’t over bake!

I opted to use my dehydrator.

IMG_3742.JPG

Allow chips to cool. They should be very crisp! If not dry a bit longer! Store in an airtight container.

Look at these chips! Aren’t they great? Now let’s pull out the Guacamole and, enjoy!

IMG_3884.JPG

Isn’t this great? Juice in the morning and Guacamole and chips that night! All thanks to one serving of Fruits and Veggies!


Thanks for stopping by! I would love to hear your favorite Veggie and Fruit pulp recipe!
And as always, blessings to you

IMG_0316.JPG

Sort:  

Such an interesting way of using fruit and veggie pulp. Unfortunately I do not have a juicer, only blender. But I reckon this could work with nut and seed pulp too when making nut milk. Thanks for this great idea!

What a great idea Amy, I will try it and let you know how it tastes!

WARNING! The comment below by @jennyluv leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

What!! I used the pulp to make chips?!?! I am VERY impressed! Major props!! 😍😘💯🌹

I know, just a little experimentation! Good stuff! Thank you! ox

That is a pretty ingenious use of veggie pulp. Like a lot of stuff, I don't know how soon I will be able to try this but I did bookmark it for later.

Wonderful, I think you'll be pleased. So easy to try! Thanks for the kind words!

Yum! May I link this article and feature your username @birdsinparadise in the recipe section of the next Weekly Homesteading Newsletter? Let me know, thank you!

Yes you may! Anytime Kiara, Thank you for your kindness!

Happy Monday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you and have a great day!

Thank you! I am really honored. I'll have to check out everyone featured this week. You always pick great posts to feature!

Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities AND it will be featured in the 59th edition of our Sotall Newsletter. Your post is helping people learn to survive and thrive now and in the future!

Thank you, how exciting! I love sharing!

This is great! You are not missing out on all that valuable fiber from your veggie juices :) What a nice way to use the by product and processing is easy since it's already juiced!

I know, it is so easy too and the combinations are endless! Thanks for the kind words! I hope you'll try it!

I really need to get a dehydrator! So many neat things you can make with them! To be fair, I don't have a juicer either, but one thing at a time. :)

hmmm...well all in due time! lol You are such a healthy eater...think of the dehydrated snacks you could have with long distance runs! I have had multiple dehydrators from expense to non expensive...you don't have to invest alot! I think Nesco I have now was about $49, and works great!

I've been contemplating getting one for quite a while, so it may just about be time to do it. Even my boyfriend might be alright with that purchase knowing how much good stuff we could make with it. :) Especially since they aren't crazy expensive!

woaah, these look incredible 😋 Wish I had a dehydrator!

Thank you for your kind comment! They're so easy to make, actually you can make them in the oven as well! Doesn't take nearly as long!

Thank you for your kind comment. Actually you can dry these in the oven as well! Doesn't take very long either!

Love this way of using up all the pulp....who knew you could make chips?? Great idea.

Thank you @countrygirl. it really was so easy. And they can be made in the oven too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74