Living Room Reno : Day 3

in #busy5 years ago

It's day 3 of the 24 hour reno challenge.....
(Yup, defo not 'The Block' material...)

It was another long night for us last night with the TV finally going up at around 11pm.

Let's back track....

This is where I left off in yesterday's blog...

20190611_161926.jpg

Can't really see it in the pic but that wall is far from perfect although the left hand side is pretty 👌 a third of the wall from the tight is a bit how ya going.

Hours later the TV arrived!
Sorry. Hubby was finally home and we lugged the box upstairs to add to the ever increasing mess in our lounge room.

20190611_192543.jpg

20190611_193038.jpg

Then another coat was added to the wall to see if we could even out the wall.... and nup...

By this point, I was beyond cranky.

It was late, there's boxes, plastic and everything else in between all over the house, the wall was worse and the TV wasn't up yet.

Sister had to chill and go to bed for a bit, then had to come back out for food.

Another hour or so later, hallelujah, it was up and it was dinner and movie time.

20190611_225042.jpg

Painting the wall black was inspired.

20190611_231825.jpg

And of course we had to give Diablo a whirl at 1am...

20190611_225546.jpg

Seriously makes the TV and the colours pop more. With the lights off it's giving off a cinema feel.

Here's how it's all looking this morning.

20190612_083647.jpg

20190612_083721.jpg

As you can see we are far from finished.

The wall will be getting another coat to even the black out and get rid of the streaks once and for all. The pendant light will need to go and replaced with a ceiling fan. The speakers, once painting is finalised will be coming back out although the TV speakers are pretty good, ain't nothing like proper surround sound.

Over all still pretty happy.

As for the TV

We got a Hisense series 8 75". Hubby had his technical reasons ~ something about uled or oled and dot something. For me I look for energy consumption and how much this thing is gonna cost us to run every year.

And with a 7 star rating I reckon it was a pretty good unit everything considered.

20190612_131307.jpg

Shame the smart TV aspect is running vewd, which imho, is a POS ~ thank goodness we have the Telstra box!

After 13 years with the same TV we didn't realise how much we were missing out on. Right now it feels like were watching old favourites for the first time. Gotta say we're eally enjoying our blu rays atm.

When was the last time you upgrade your TV ?


bearone.png

MEMBEROFS.png

Team Australia Steem Philippines Steem Silver Gold Qurator Natural Medicine Snbox Alpha

Sort:  

Hey @bearone,

You have been gifted an upvote and a resteem by the Mysteemversary bot in celebration of your steem account's birthday.

Your account is now 2 years old!

🎂 🎂 Happy Steemversary  🎂 🎂

Thanks for sticking around this long and believing in the future of this community.


My Steemversary is a smart bot that rewards active steemians on their account's anniversary. We use a bunch of tools to filter out inactive/blacklisted users and bots. Our goal is to gift these users a decent upvote. Please consider helping us grow by delegating to our bot [5SP10SP25SP50SP100SP500SP1000SPCustom Amount] or by simply upvoting this comment.

Nice. You gonna peel those stickers off the tv? That would bug me the most. Black wall makes a lot of sense. I think it was a good choice.

To answer your question, I don't have a tv. I watch everything on laptop, phone or kindle.

Yup stickers came off late last night :D When you get your own place would you look into getting one or you're just not interested? I was watching Netflix on my tab a lot got a while there, loved how I could watch my show everywhere .

I'm undecided on that. I've really cut back on the amount of tv I watch. But then again, if I was in my own place and it wasn't noisy, I may be more inclined to watch something in the lounge, without headphones!

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.681 which ranks you at #1620 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1629).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @bearone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Think JJ would like an upgrade at some point. Our tv is starting to get on (takes ages to turn on sometimes) but it's still doing the job. I don't actually use it much these days (when I was using it I was gaming and that was it, I'll sit and watch movies and Youtube with the kids sometimes but it's been forever since I actually put on something to watch myself).

Do you have one of the roller things? Think the wall colour was a good choice, the black tv on the black wall would make a nice movie/game experience if you have the lights off or the room at least darkened :)

The star rating system is getting a bit nuts I think XD

You might love this TV then if you're into YouTube. It's got a YouTube button!

Yep got a roller but it's a cheap one so it's not the best. Wish we invested in a good one.

Black was defo a good choice! Really glad we went for it cos you're so spot on, it added to the movie and game experience especially with the lights off and made the TV feel bigger.

I'm totally not into Youtube. I do have a pretty old Youtube account and it has some videos on it and I did have plans for it but I just don't want to do anything with it anymore because I'm not happy with Google (not that they would care either way because I don't exist XD). When I'm watching Youtube is on the few occasions where I'm looking something up (usually music videos because...they're all on stupid Youtube) and when pixie wants me to sit with her while she's watching (she doesn't actually care if I'm watching or even interested, she just wants me to sit on the couch with her, so I sit with her and she watches while I play with my phone and sometimes there's even conversation).

Glad the black wall is enhancing the experience :D Though hopefully it doesn't affect the room temperature in summer, just occurred to me D:

Ohhh you're boycotting Google?

I'm hoping D.tube turns into YouTube eventually, I'd prefer to support blockchain tech, but atm cant really beat the amount of content on YouTube so I'm on it quite often especially for tutorials.

It shouldn't affect the temp in summer. I usually have all the blinds down so it's like a tomb in the house lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Nothing as organised as boycotting 🤣 I actually really like Google tools, they’re amazing, just that whoever is making the “evil” company decisions, well I wouldn’t be sorry if anything terrible happened to them. Meanwhile I just use them when I need to.

Can totally understand that from a user perspective. From a creator perspective the obvious solution is to add more content but a lot of people STILL aren’t grokking how dtube works and they’re still insistently clinging to expectations of working like YouTube so of course because dtube is so “unreliable” (not to mention glitchy and slow) they continue to insist on using YouTube and I’m so over trying to explain things 🤣

Though speaking of unreliable I’ve started pinning things I like a bit more now that ipfs companion seems more reliable, though I need to figure out command line as there’s apparently 5gb worth of stuff on my nose but there isn’t 5gb of stuff listed on companion 😅

Sounds like the house plans are all working out then 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74