You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem: The Destruction Of Mastercard And Visa

in #busy5 years ago

I've been racking my brain to how they might expect to monetize a cryptocurrency protocol... given that early adopters of cryptocurrency are specifically trying to avoid the centralised fee structure of Visa and Mastercard. I guess they could do an IEO, and then tout the benefits of instant unhackable money, but who would choose that over the current offerings. I'm just struggling to figure out their long-term gameplan here.

Sort:  

I think it is a repeat of the 1990s when the information purveyors embraced the Internet which ended up killing their business.

It seems a lot of these companies are jumping into cryptocurrency because they see the threat and yet arent sure what to do about it.

I can't see how visa and mastercard would be dead/dying on my lifetime but i'm excited to be proven wrong.

Yeah, I don't see it either... they're so massively integrated in retail... even Samsung and Apple have struggled to transition people across to other payment systems... but I completely agree. Down with 3% fees!


You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @fuadsm

We have planted already
8060.73 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24430.37
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

That's interesting... I thought they'd throw their weight around, use their retail infrastructure and entice all miners to come over to their coin. Be very interesting to see what they build... and if it'll make any difference at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63