Events Filming - what I do

in #busy6 years ago

Now then ladies and gents

My thing these days (aside from aching limbs and lack of sleep) tends to be filming and editing event videos.

image

It never used to be that way.
I guess over time things develop and you figure out what you're actually good at, and most importantly; what people recognise in you too.
Well I guess my theory is that I get asked to do it a lot so I must have a knack somewhere for it.

Here I am, working on the last shoot, sweating, although not visibly (I actually quite like this photo)

image

I'd say about 70% of my work these days is event related in some form; whether it be music festival coverage, highlights from a dreary awards show, talks/presentations at an open day, or live shows from bands and musicians etc.
(the other 30% of my work being staged promos of various kinds - music videos, branded social interview clips)

So I'm currently I'm working on two big event projects for large organisations; both currently in the edit stages as I write this.

The first I'll talk about is for long-time client SkyBet (based in Leeds) for whom I've recently just covered their huge annual business get together - amongst many many other videos for them over the years.
Here's what last years The Gathering looked like, so you know what I'm going to waffle about.
Last years was shot by both myself and Tom Hunter, then edited by myself on a quick turn around.

The shoot day on these kinds of jobs are always pretty long, often with more things to do than I have time, whilst carrying heavy camera and sound equipment whilst simultaneously perspiring heavily.

Upon arriving at the event I tend to first find out who is running the show (quite literally) and strike up some kind of rapport.
Usually about the traffic. Or Brexit.

THEN I get set-up with my video kit.

image

For me, the key to a half decent successful day of event filming is

  • turn up on time
  • to be prepared, with the right equipment you might need
  • travel light
  • carry a drink
  • print off your schedule (multiple copies)
  • prioritise the shots you know you want to get.
  • always think about the edit before you shoot.

On that last point, I always try to get the kind of shots I've visualised before filming.. shots that I would like to see work together in a punchy sequence.
For example, they don't have to be specific, but more like transitions or shots that will help bridge from one subject to another to help tell that story. Be a clever clogs and shoot in-camera whip pans and merge them together.
It makes impromptu filming feel like the edit has a purpose.

Anyway, you'll thank yourself that you thought ahead when faced with 2.5 hours of footage from the event that needs to be edited down to 2.5 minutes.

So the second project I'm currently working on is an event I shot last on Saturday 21st July for UA92; a brand new University based in Manchester, founded by ex-Manchester United footballers Gary Neville, and assisted by Ryan Giggs.

image

This day was really fantastic in its own right; to discover more about the philosophy of learning that comes from the background of sport and the character building it requires - and it was equally great to interact with some of England's most celebrated football players.
Fantastic good natured people with a nose for business.

Again, on this day it was pretty much non-stop interview after interview; it's a priority to make sure that sound was working and monitored correctly, that exposure was good and battery levels maintained etc.

image

Shooting events can be a rewarding day.

If you're lucky you get to work directly with people who are media trained so they understand how shooting and interviewing works best for video.
Luckily I had great support on both of these projects - and the difference it makes is vast.

One other experience worth mentioning that I have very fond memories of was shooting coverage of the #Promo-Steem led London Crypto Currency Show back in April under the guiding wing of Steem gents @anarcotech and @starkerz

image

A great example of shooting an all day event (that some of you may be familiar with) where there's often far too much going on at once, and that's where I find it handy to have a second camera - which for me was a GoPro hero 4 on a gimbal - that I can pick up and get b-roll shots of people interacting without having to change settings or de-rig my main camera off the tripod.

That was a genuine pleasure to film that event, and it brought lots of like minded and positive people together.
I met a lot of a good Steemian pals at that show :)

Lastly; the edit.
I might do a whole other post on my experiences in editing down vast quantities of non-coherent video rather quickly in to a half decent sequence.

But for now I'm off to get some paracetamol for the headache I've just acquired.

For now, goodbye.

Sort:  

Hi ashtv,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wonderful, thank you for the recognition and support @Curie.
This is encouraging that what I write is being seen, by both you and the wider community :)

Im honored, it was partly backed up by my GoPro!! :))

Oh yes, indeed! So glad to have been a part of that day and kept on with the Steem journey :)

This is quite a cool post. I'm not in the field of filming but I found it very interesting. Huge props to you for your many creative contributions to the Steemit community.

Thanks for reading @jazzhero. It's warming to know my posts are being read and enjoyed by those not even in the video/filmmaking world.

Hi Ashtv,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Monday/Early Tuesday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]


Curie Badge transparency.png

P.S. This is coming a bit delayed due to the issues with Steem API that is making the frontends misbehave. Bear with me. I understand the short notice may inhibit your contribution is composing the showcase post. That I will do my best to work around, and delay the release of the post for a few hours to give you time to respond.

Hi @misterakpan, yes I'd be happy for @curie to feature my post. Thank you for selecting it and supporting my work :)

@misterakpan I've just seen the Curie Featured Author post.
Thank you for your accompanying words and for including me in this. It means a lot.

I endeavour to write even more interesting articles with the support that Curie has shown :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97