You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Little Friend: The Emprit (Finch Bird)

in #busy6 years ago

Hello @ el-nailul, how touching and encouraging your story, the chick is still alive?

I like that people are interested in nature, I'm from Venezuela and live in a rural area so since I was a child I have known how to appreciate nature and its diversity, I was researching something about intoxication in birds. and I got with this page http://www.infoexoticos.com/intoxicaciones-en-aves/

I hope it helps.

Zinc poisoning: is mainly caused by birds' access to galvanized metal (such as the frequently used homemade mesh cages) and coins. Although many low-quality cages and toys are made from brass (copper alloy and zinc) they are also the cause of zinc poisoning. Zinc is an essential element in the metabolism of the bird but its excess can produce alterations in the function of the exocrine pancreas. It causes effects at digestive level, reproductive (decrease in egg laying), abnormal molts and hemolytic anemias (studied in Amazonas ventralis by Litte and Smith in 1998).

is interesting because according to the page it says that zinc is part of your metabolism but excess can be harmful.

but your cunning beat a vet, I would have thought to use lemon or some acid but diluted to counteract the action of oxide.

Thank you for sharing this publication, this very nice bird I hope will recover.

Sort:  

Ahaa thank you very much @arrozymangophoto, I have heard about condor which was poisoned because they ate the contaminated corpse by iron (copper, tin). From that article I found the answer of what happen to my little friend. and this link will be so helpful for the next time i face same problem

I'm glad I can help. Birds are definitely weaker than we imagined.

Just thinking about the traffic of birds that exists in our South American countries, to countries like USA or Europe is terrible.

greetings brother, I hope to see more anecdotes of your nature

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63352.53
ETH 2447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67