Visiting the Resurrection Monastery in the outskirts of Moscow

in #busy6 years ago

Not everything in Russia is about football, meeting new people and partying.

I mean, if I already came all the way to Russia the least I can do during the resting days when there are no games is to do some normal touristing activities.

I don´t like the way I´m traveling right now because it feels very different to how I´m used to do it. This time I´m staying in an airbnb, taking public transportation instead of walking everywhere, drinking beer most of the days - because of the games and the general party vibe on every street - among other things. But I´m traveling like this because I´m not alone this time and, as a general traveling rule, if you travel with someone else, both have to compromise and meet the other people halfway.

I can´t make every other party member to do as I say, even if I would love to do it.

Anyway, one member of my crew suggested we visited an old Monastery just outside of Moscow and, even though I don´t like to visit the highly touristic venues or tourist traps as I call them, there´s simply some things you can´t miss and after seeing some pictures on the internet and reading a bit about the place I knew this place was one them, I had to see it for myself.

I did some research to educate myself about this place

Also called, New Jerusalem Monastery, it was founded in 1656 and is part of the Russian Orthodox Church. It was closed down in 1918, ransacked by the Germans in 1941 and some towers were destroyed; it was only until 1990 that it was re-established as a religious community.

I noticed there were people from all over western Russia coming here to pay their respects. Both outside the wall, in the atrium and inside the Church was packed with religous people. It´s worth mentioning that women can´t go inside the monastery without covering their heads, I don´t know why but I have it marked as one of the questions I need to ask next time I visit a monastery or church.

The general vibe I felt was similar as those I felt when visiting a Catholic Church in Central America or an Anglican Church in the UK, but there was a main difference: In Russia, there are people inside the Church selling candles, lockets, images and all kinds of religious artifacts. Most people buy a candle, light it and pray with it, and then places it still burning in one of the altars inside the Church.

The inside of the Church is more colorful thanthe catholic ones but the ornaments, paintings and general environment is pretty similar with the slight difference that the Orthodox Church seemed more "goldy" in the inside.

I took a lot of pictures, I hope you like them.




Visitando el Monasterio de la Resurrección en las afueras de Moscú

No todo en Rusia es acerca de Fútbol, conocer gente nueva y estar de fiesta.

Es decir, si ya vine hasta Rusia lo mínimo que puedo hacer durante los días que no hay partidos es hacer un poco de actividades de turista normal.

No me gusta mucho la manera en la que estoy viajando actualmente porque es muy diferente a como estoy acostumbrado.Esta vez me estoy quedando en un airbnb, usando transporte público en lugar de caminar a todos lados, tomando cerverza casi todos los días - debido a los juegos y el ambiente en general de fiesta que hay en todas las calles - entre algunas otras cosas. Pero estoy viajando así porque esta vez no estoy solo y es una regla de todos los viajeros que, si viajas con gente todos deben ceder en algo para que el viaje funcione.

No puedo obligar a todos los demás a hacer lo que digo y viajar como yo lo hago, aunque me encantaría poder hacerlo.

En fin, uno de los miembros de mi tripulación sugirió que visitáramos un Monasterio viejo justo en las afueras de Moscú y, aunque no me gusta visitar lugares altamente turísticos o trampa para turistas como lo llamo yo, pero a veces hay cosas que no puedes perderte y después de ver algunas fotografías en internet y leer un poco acerca de el supe que este lugar era uno de ellos, lo tenía que ver por mí mismo.

Hice un poco de investigación para educarme un poco acerca de este lugar.

También llamado Monasterio Nueva Jerusalem, fue funado en 1656 y es parte de la iglesia ortodoxa Rusa. Fue cerrado en 1918, saqueado en 1941 por los Alemanes y algunas de sus torres fueron destruidas; solo fue hasta 1990 que fue re-establecido para fines religiosos.

Me di cuenta de que había personas de todos lados de la Rusa del oeste que vinieron a visitar y ofrecer sus respetos. Tanto fuera de la muralla como en el atrio y dentro de la iglesia se encontraba lleno de gente religiosa. Vale la pena mencionar que las mujeres no pueden entrar a la iglesia si no se cubren la cabeza, no sé por qué pero es una de las preguntas que tengo apuntadas para que me la resuelvan la próxima vez que visite un templo.

La vibra en general que sentí fue muy similar a la que despide una iglesia Católica en Centroamérica o una iglesia Anglicana en Inglaterra, pero con una diferencia: En Rusia, dentro de las iglesias hay personas vendiendo velas, incienso, collares, fotografías y varios artículos religiosos. La mayoría de la gente compa una vela, la prende y se pone a rezar y al terminar, la colocan en uno de los altares dentro de la iglesia.

El interior de la Iglesia es mucho mas colorido que su contraparte católica pero los ornametos y la vibra general es la misma, aunque la Ortodoxa me parece más dorada y adornada.

Tomé muchísimas fotografías, espero les gusten.

IMG_20180709_131135759.jpg

IMG_20180709_131813171.jpg

IMG_20180709_131326284.jpg

IMG_20180709_124933965.jpg

IMG_20180709_125314943_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180709_131358548.jpg

IMG_20180709_123911247_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180709_125022095_HDR.jpg

Lastly, check out this panoramic beauty.

IMG_20180709_131005798.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! How beautiful! Your travels never cease to amaze me brother!

IMG_20180709_131326284.jpg

That looks so beautiful holy sh*t!! It's almost unbelievable how incredibly accurate and well-engineered this looks even after being that old.

The whole structure is art in itself. I'm gonna bookmark your article so I can come look at it again and again :P

Debe ser super emocionante para ti estar visitando tantos lugares nuevos y fascinantes.
Cada pais tiene una rica cultura, tradiciones ancestrales... Y como tu dices "Russia, no es solo fútbol"
Estoy seguro que muchos de los que leemos tus post y vemos tus maravillosas fotos nos sentimos atraídos por lo que haces y hasta (un poco) de envidia (de la buena) porque tu estas allá... jajaja! Es broma, cada uno obtiene el fruto de sus esfuerzos y hasta sacrificios, felicidades, que la sigas pasando bien. Saludos @anomadsoul desde Venezuela
It must be super exciting for you to be visiting so many fascinating new places.
Each country has a rich culture, ancient traditions... And as you say "Russia, it's not just football"
I'm sure that many of us who read your post and see your wonderful photos are attracted to what you do and even (a little) jealous (of the good stuff) because you're there... hahaha! As a joke, everyone gets the fruit of their efforts and even sacrifices, congratulations, that you continue to have a good time. Greetings @anomadsoul from Venezuela
Again...
THANK YOU!

This monastery really looks beautiful!
With what kind of crew do you travel?

I always persuade my crew to do as I like. But I guess for me the same happens as with other men. I just follow my wife 😩

I bet as of now it's again time for world cup soccer?!?

I would love to tour the earth this way in the future to come.
It's nice you giving us reports of your touring activities in Russia, nice photographs you've got too..👍

Woo. Te quedaron geniales esas fotografías, qué bueno que estés disfrutando y conociendo algo de ese país tan extenso y lo mejor es que estás con un grupo, yo en lo personal pienso que en grupo se disfrutan más los viajes.👍

Look at the domes Eric, I was wondering at what height and position of camera you took these pictures from. Wow so much history surrounding this place, I never knew Russia had historic building standing like this, I guess it's a tourist attraction now.
Amazing photos really, not just about football 😁😁

volvió la barba :( ... jajaja espero que sea solo por andar de turista en Rusia, el lugar se ve genial, todo bastante organizado y limpio, muchos detalles en dorado como bien lo comentas, es un lugar que merece algunas horas de recorrido por la historia que debe tener, saludos amigo

Not everything in Russia is about football, meeting new people and partying.

Hahaha, I'm glad you had the chance to travel. I had only the chance to visit Saint Petersburg, so I'm sure that Moscow (as the capital of one of the richest cultures ) has a lot more to offer than just football.

Life is an story aspect and we don't know at what time we will reach where and what we will do. But life is an mystery and it holds it's own secret plans for everyone no matter if you want to do something or not, but if life wants then it will push you there.

In my opinion in travelling aspect, most of the time we go in group and everything happens after mutual understanding, and we have to adapt it sometimes because it's an human tendency to do those things freely which we like.

You've visited to beautiful and amazing place. And green colour of this Architecture is really beautiful and peaceful to watch and in my opinion all the structures are breathtaking to watch and i hope that you'll enjoyed the essence of this place.

When we travel at new places then for sure we get familiar with new stories and sometimes when we get to know for the first time then that stays with us for the longer period.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97