Thoughts from the backseat of a car

in #busy6 years ago

IMG_20180827_144126699.jpg

Oh yeah, I haven't shaved in weeks and the four car windows are completely open, that's why I have such a messy hair.

But I like it. Since I was very young I loved my curly and abundant hair. A couple of years ago it started to grow thinner and thinner and I lost so much that I thought I would end up bald in my late twenties, just like my dad.

I didn't mind the fact I was getting bald. The thought of pulling off a kick ass beard and a shaven head was appealing to me. But to be honest I like my hair, I've always liked to experiment with it, to get different hair cuts, to play with different hair styles in the shower, to fix my hair depending on the occasion - you know, it's not the same going to a fancy dinner that requires a nice hair than visiting your niece that will surely get your hair all messed up while playing "hairdresser". I think you get the drill. I like my hair.

Long story short, I tried some natural remedies for hair loss, started eating healthier and specific food that strengthens the hair roots, did some weird rituals involving the yellow part of an egg and some other stuff and against all odds, here I am, rocking a full bush - in my head, come on, don't be like that.

Speaking about bushes - or any trivial subject for that matter -, they say that a good writer (or wanna be writer) has to be able to write about any particular topic without losing his reader's attention. My dad always used to say to me "if you want to be a good writer, you have to be an excellent reader. For every hour you write, read for 10 hours".

I think both statements are correct. Any person who considers theirself a writer should be able to hold on to the readers no matter the subject and, in order to be able to do that, that writer has to have read tons of books, exploring different styles, playing with genres, making music with the words, using the wide range of tools we have at our disposition.

That takes me to my next subject. Reading. I haven't been able to read a single book so far on this year. Compared to my average of +100 books a year while I was in high school and college, my current situation is deplorable, almost despicable. I have time, I spend too much time on my cellphone, time that I could use for reading but to be honest with you, my reader, and myself, I haven't felt in the mood for reading lately.

The time will come. I'm a man of streaks and vogues. I'm sure the era when I read a book per week will come back. I just need to give it some time and it will flow back to me, if I push it I'll break it.

Speaking about broken things. The driver just broke the silence and the co-pilot is demanding I pay her some attention, I have to go.

Sort:  

Love my books too brother. 100 plus a year though whoa got me beat in volume by a long shot! I think that's great though. You'll get back into when the mind needs to be watered in a different way! I usually have 3 or 4 books in the car for school car lines as waiting to pick up the kids allows me plenty of time to read most days. Love what you do in your posts by the way. You're a great story teller and following you has been one of my steemit happy places! Most appreciated and keep it comin'. It's been loads of fun watchin' you grow here.............

I used to spend more than 4 hours a day in public transportation and I spent all that time reading, then at school I would read during the boring lessons and also before sleeping. It was a great time back then :D

Thanks for this man, really comments like this one are what I write them for. Please if I ever slack or drop quality, br first to criticize me!

I appreciate that brother! Thanks for the reply. You my friend are living and documenting it along the way for all to see so no criticism here. I'm just happy to be able to be a small part of it via reading your posts. That I am thankful for so whether you take a while or put out three a day I'm a happy camper. There's no right way to do it only your way. Take care buddy!

Looking good brother. Writing is at times difficult. At times inspiration are lost while writing. At other times the inspiration comes but you feel they are not really worth posting only for you to get a reply from some one that your post helped the person.

To be a writer is difficult and demanding

Exactly! And to receive feedback, truthful opinions and replies means a lot for someone who wants to improve their writing :) thanks for this comment my friend.

Yea truth opinions goes a long way to help.

"Oh yeah, I haven't shaved in weeks" <---same here! My beard is ALMOST as big as yours!

"they say that a good writer (or wanna be writer) has to be able to write about any particular topic without losing his reader's attention." <--- You must be a good writer then... because I'm ADD as fudge and I'm still paying attention

I like your t-shirt. And your pelo despeinado

Uhh we should compare beards then :)
Oh yessss, I managed to keep you reading all the while? Nice! I wonder if I could do that with longer pieces but definitely you are the right test haha

The T-shirt was given to me on Steen Fest 2... Are you planning to going to Poland this year? My pelo despeinado dice gracias :)))

Yes I'm definitely the right test! I didn't know about the ADD thing until I was 26 haha.

Hahaha wow tienes pelo que habla?!?!! impresionante!!!!

I'm not sure about Poland yet (which is why I haven't participated in any contests). But I'd love to!! If I go, we can compare beards jaja

"They" say a lot of things XD

I think you're a good writer because you're an interesting person and you know how to spin a story, even about hair XD

I also don't think you need to be that voracious a reader to be a good writer though it would certainly help quite a bit. Sometimes with what time you have, you have to choose between consuming other people's stuff or working on your own stuff :)

For once, what caught my attention wasn't you (sorry, you'll just have to accept you can't always be the centre of attraction 😎😉) but the lush white interior back of the car. It doesn't look very big but looks like a really nice car!

Hahahaha oh come on! I just post my pics sometimes to feel like an Instagram influencer! Don't burst my bubble!
Yes, it's a small car but as it turns out, they took me for a spin because it's brand new... Nice observation skills!

Your dad is right on the bit about a good writer been an even better reader. I too am in a situation similar to yours where I earlier used to read a lot during my school time but I find a lot less time these days.

We gotta find time to do it! Otherwise we'll wake up one day ten years from now and we'll still be in the same place as today!

That's true. I also have another sickness though. The inability to stop myself from picking up many books for reading at the same time. I have Murakami for reading in the balcony area, Outlander series in the living area, The Name of the Wind on the bedside table, Ken Follet on the e-book reader. I never get anywhere!

Personally I like beards on men because it defines their masculinity

Posted using Partiko iOS

Uhhh well, do you like mine? <3 hahahahaha

Nice shot, nice hair and it's written very interesing)

You got a 42.37% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @anomadsoul!

jajaja De verdad que es incomodo estar en un mundo distinto al de los demás, bien sea con la cara metida en un libro, en tu computadora o en el celular; en este momento de mi vida que soy un blogger a tiempo completo no imagino que piensa mi esposa por estar tanto tiempo aquí(en la pc) escribiendo y leyendo, leyendo y escribiendo jajaja.
En cuanto a tu lectura, "vamos hombre, es solo cuestión de hábitos, ya lo retomarás", un abrazo compa
Again...
THANK YOU!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38