The "other" London

in #busy6 years ago (edited)
I've been to London quite a few times mostly for layovers. I intentionally pick long layovers so I have enough time to explore a city for a few hours without actually having to spend money in accomodation, especially in expensive cities such as the capital of England.

I met Sofie in the morning and we hitted it off from the beginning. This Belgian girl visited friends in Manchester and had the same idea as me: to explore London during the little time she had until her bus left to Belgium.

I had no idea there was an underground tunnel from London to Belgium and that you could actually take a train/bus between the island and the continent. I guess you learn something everyday.

Anyway, she wanted to go to some neighborhood she visited a few years ago and when she described it to me I didn't hesitate and I asked her if I could join in.

I mean, if someone tells you "I know about this hood where you can find art, alternative hobbies, bizarre streets and exotic people" you don't think twice about joining in the adventure.

This part of London is nothing like you would imagine when someone mentions the city. Your mind drifts towards the usual touristic spots you see in the movies and you start imagining yourself walking through posh neighborhoods listening to people speak in their British accent while watching tons of cabbies (taxis) transport important people.

But you see, this is what I like the most from traveling. To see the real side of a city. To explore the normal parts of every town I go to. To be able to explore it even if it's just for a few days or hours. To experience how the life of a normal person is in that specific place on Earth.

I never felt unsafe while walking these streets. I actually felt so comfortable I had a beer - Sofie had water :( - while taking these photographs.

True. It's not what I expected from London and I have to say I still need to get to know this city more deeply to make a judgement but from what I've seen, I have mixed feelings about it.

But having the chance of walking through these streets is a blessing. All we see in other blog posts from the normal traveler is what they think we want to see, or what they think might give them more views or more like, or simply what is more appealing to the normal person's eye.

But not me. I know - or want to believe - that some people want to experience at least through pictures, how is a non-mainstream area or how does the vibe feels in a non-touristic venue.

I guess that's why, sometimes, I like to show people the other side of the coin. I guess that's why I think you'd like to see "The other London".

Sort:  

This is interesting, I mean all you get to see most times from folks is Thames river, The Eye, the London bus, bridge or airport. Believe me any part of a city that has art in a way gives you experience that lingers on for a long time.

Oh yes, everyone focuses in the touristic attractions that people can just google search and thats it, but this part of the cities is what people wouldn´t even know they exist if bloggers didn´t do articles like this one.

Please dont stop showing places like this, its not all about the fency good looking touristy stuff (they are awesome too ofcourse ;p) but sometimes this edgy, darker not this beautiful areas are worth to showcase too.

I have followed a vlogger pair who showcase this parts of cities too and its awesome :)

I will keep trying to bring content like this, thank you for your encouragement!

Well you managed to punch away from the river to escape touristy areas. lol. You look like your beat footing around somewhere outside of Stepney though. The city is a diverse place and you can live there and still discover new things every year. Hope you got to sample some nightlife as well. Again, great post on my home town and thanks for sharing. You captured it well. :)

Oh I went to a bar but my wallet suffered greatly, I don´t think night life in London is affordable for a low budget traveler like me. But still, I really liked London!

The title suits just great as I could never imagine to find such art on the streets of the London. And this is what I love about real travelers, we never go in the direction that everyone goes - seeing those buildings and stuffs everyone knows about but most likely to discover something different and share it with the others too. ♥️

I'm lovin' this lil' series you're puttin' out! Great pics and so eye opening. I seen actual pics from London and they are as you say from the typical touristy spots. I always knew regular Joe's had to live somewhere there just never took the time to explore. Really kool to see these. Nice!

Oh I wish I had more pics about this man, it really is very different from what mainstream blogs and movies makes us believe London is like. Good to see you around man, long time no see :D

I think the other London seems like appropriate title since people just pictures of Thames, Ben and the London Bridge. The art on the wall is one of the best 'read' on what a city is truly like. Although we all see it but never care to document it like we do the other monuments in the city.

Then again, the good company of random strangers can be one of the best ways to break out of the narrow mental shell and see something unexpected and spectacular :-)

Exactly, it[s usually the tourist traps what people blog about, I thought about writing about something refreshing and not-so-mainstream.
I really like when people start paying attention to "normal" things when traveling, because in reality that is what most people are interested in when reading one´s blog, about the real side of the city, not about the touristy spots they can just google search about.... right?

I think a lot of people do really want to see the heart of cities and places they visit to. By 'heart' I mean the real residents of the place and where they come from. Most of the time our impression about the place is just the famous landmarks and tourist spots and we get a little bored of just looking at them from the pictures.
Sooner or later people will tend to look for the real side of the city. It is something that kind of validates your visit to a city. One of the best ways I found was to connect with the locals. A single dinner at their house is worth a hundred at a five star hotel.

Who knew London had places like this, most times when I imagine it to be what I see in movies, would love to visit this part if I ever get the chance to visit london

I would call here a developed ghetto

This is exactly what people want to see right? Not something they can just google search for images about touristic spots. Thanks for your encouragement man.

@anomadsoul So good to see your face again bro, glad to know you're on tour in the city of london. Your friend is really beautiful i must confess, Its obvious you're in safe hands already. Do enjoy your trip man.

Oh yes, she is quite beautiful but we are only friends. Thanks for your comment man glad to see you around.

Hello a pleasure to greet you and what a pleasure to see you in this beautiful image next to this beautiful girl, I love the style of the streets, the colors and structures, enjoy it to the fullest, greetings.

Although I be not been to London, it's one of my dream city

Me neither, I still need more time there to really have an opinion but from what I saw I wasn´t really amazed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60