It´s over 9,000!! | A Vegeta Follower Milestone and a Cave exploration

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Holy hell. I am now the 185th most followed person on Steemit. Take out the project accounts and the follow everyone so they follow me back accounts and I´m the 83rd most followed account.

I stopped doing milestone posts when I hit the 2k follower mark, not because I don´t like to do them - I mean, who doesn´t like to celebrate milestones - but because I realized some of these posts have a negative impact on some people and rather than encourage them to keep striving to grow organically on Steemit, they get disappointed when they compare themselves to the person posting a milestone and, sometimes some people can even start comitting spam or abusing the platform in an attempt to grow faster.

But the Vegeta milestone is one you can´t miss, I couldn´t let it pass through that easily without some sort of celebration.

This is awesome, as it comes a few days before I turn one year on Steemit. I openen my account on the 22nd of April 2017, but my first post was made on the 27th, so for me that date is my real birthday and I don´t care what anyone else has to say, my birthday is on the 27 :D

Anyway guys. I don´t do it but if you feel like doing it, celebrate your milestone. I´m going to quote myself:

We are so blinded by someone else´s definition of success that oftenly we ignore these small achievements because we think they don´t matter, we are so obsessed with the main goal that we miss out on the opportunity of being happy about the petty accomplisments.

This is not about conformism, it is about recognizing that in every situation or experience, we have something to learn and to celebrate. Don´t let other people lose their way just because things are not happening the way they think they should.

So celebrate your Steemit milestones, just make sure to be clear on how much effort, dedication, hours and sweat you put into building your account, so people are aware that these milestone do not come easily and we must earn them, no one is going to give them to us.

I didn´t want to do a milestone post because I have some autovoters, and it feels like I would be abusing their trust by posting only the Vegeta milestone. But I was also planning on posting a visual tour around a cave I explored in Southern México a few weeks ago, so I decided to give you a sneak peek for the cave :D

IMG_4654.JPG

IMG_4655.JPG

IMG_4668.JPG

IMG_4662.JPG

That´s it, you don´t get to see more today, wait until I post the whole adventure.

Sort:  

Congratulations. What's a 'vegeta' milestone?

Never heard of the concept! If I never have, chances are most people reading this haven't?

Or am I just completely in the dark-ages on this?

Haha there is a very known chapter in Dragon Ball Z where Goku´s fighting power surpasses 9k units, something never seen before. Vegeta says "its over 9,000!" shouting and getting angry at Goku´s power.

The meme "Its over 9k" is very well known among the memelords of the weird corners of the internet - which im part of. :D

OK thanks... something I know very little about. I'm more of a classical literature manyself. Can't imagine Dickens memes trending quite as well though.

Haha what can I say, I was 12 years old and a fan of anime, it stayed with me and eventually it became a meme within some internet groups :D

Honestly, you are an achiever and a great man of honour. You are not even up to one year and you already have 9000 followers. This is wow.
I remember the day I saw the notification that you followed me, I was so happy and I appreciate it sir. You are one of my role models on steemit and I promised never to disappoint you sir.

Congratulations on this mile stone achieved.
I can't wait to celebrate with you you 1yr on steemit

9000+ followers, that's huge. Congratulations @anomadsoul.
You are right about how celebrating might make some persons feel bad but there are milestones you can not ignore, right?

I have some issues with the follow feature though but if it does not do anything at all, it shows that people value ones account enough to follow it.


I pray I get to that number of followers and more some day. It sure gives a cool feeling.

I do not celebrate my milestones that much unless they're really way off the chart like when I hit rep60 sometimes it makes me reminisce hoe far I've come, and things I've achieved you know, it's always amazing, however your milestone is huge, 9k is really big Eric considering that we have more then 800k account here, the success may not be colloquial but it's big
well I can still accept wind if you're throwing a party

well I enjoyed the sneak peak! Congrats on your achievements. No reason not to celebrate them though I get what your saying about it having a negative impact sometimes.

I look forward to seeing more of the cave, and hearing it's history or at least it's name so I can look it up. Caves have always fascinated me, and they are a lot of fun exploring.

Hahaha over 9000! you can't miss that opportunity. I see what you're saying about others comparing themselves to you and you not wanting them to feel bad about themselves, but I personally don't think that it should be a huge concern. You have all of those followers for a reason - you've been using the platform for a year now and have over 4000 posts and you create good quality content. It is something that others should strive for.

That cave adventure looks cool

Ahahahha I love the Vegeta referrence as I grew up watching Dragon Ball and untill now watch it. Instinct!

I used to do milestone posts as well to keep me motivated and thanking those that at one point of my Steem life like what I wrote to follow me.

I remember this woman who said that I grew so fast as compared to her when I think I grew slow (My first two months was an utter disaster) but it is not healthy to compare as we all have our own pace.

Here is to you for another 9,000 followers!

Congrats for this milestone! I have more than 5000 Followers now, and this is much more than i imagined. I think it does not count so much if most of them are inactive. More important is reputation, yours is the same as mine, this is so good.
That cave pictures are amazing!

@anomadsoul, 9000 followers? Oh massive achievement of your steemit journey. I know you'll get next 1000 followers within one week. Probably it's celebration party time for you now but I haven't receive anything yet.
Why you get more followers? I confirmly know, you're a man in this platform who's fascinating their hearts.

So celebrate your Steemit milestones, just make sure to be clear on how much effort, dedication, hours and sweat you put into building your account, so people are aware that these milestone do not come easily and we must earn them, no one is going to give them to us.

Yep definitely everyone need to follow above content and you can keep going with less troubles. We have to learn from you man. I have big happiness coz when I started follow you. Stay blessed and keep going with your life.

Amazing and deserved! This is a great post because it allows us to see a kind heart and open public guy can grow fast. So many in crypto are concerned with hiding behind their screen names and no-one really knows them, so why celebrate?
You, on the other hand, are community driven and community friendly. It is great to celebrate with you for us. Too bad it is not around some steamed shrimp and cold beers but we are there in spirit.

Ah man with some beers and good steak it would be awesome, I guess at some point a meetup will have to be held :D
I get your point among the crypto whales and the whole anonimity thing, but given the nature of my blog posts I guess I never even considered being anonimous... but thinking about it, if i had millions in crypto i might not be so open about my whereabouts or dunno hahaha.

Thanks for dropping by man! I appreciate the comment.

Steak does sound better than some shrimp, we can do both. Yes a meetup is in our future, we just have to work that out.

I guess, I never really thought about having a couple millions dollars, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97