DORCAS: A Poem About Regrets, Pain , Love and Bad Decisions

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

2666991-YVGWKLWE-7.jpg

DORCAS


Dorcas is my friend
She loves me but can't be with me
I am too nice
I can only be just a friend
But she doesn't like it when a girl is around me
She feels threatened
But she wonders why I feel so jealous when same happens with her
She wants to call me all night
But wants me to study so hard so I can be first in class.

Dorcas is no longer my friend
She now has a new friend that doubles as a bf
Let's call him "FICTION"
Because that was all Dorcas ever wanted
A frog that is also a prince
A neat Pig, a tall mouse
A short giraffe
A dry duck
And I am none of that
But fiction is....
Fiction can be anything
As long as it can be imagined and told in the absence of conscience

Now, fast forward three leap years
Dorcas is pregnant, her son's name is my name
Seriously, she named him after me
Only that his true name is fiction JNR
And I am still real

So, Dorcas... is still beautiful even after the pregnancy
...and the endless beatings
It seems I am the only one who thinks she is beautiful
Fiction thinks she is ugly and so beats her with the hope that her beauty will evolve
It did evolve....into wrinkles ..

She looked at me, and smiled
But deep down, I see pain
I see mistakes that are beyond correction
I still love Dorcas.
True love can never die
So Dorcas' never died
But Dorcas looks dead
Her eyes looks like a mirror of horror
She is blind to reality

So I said to her
"Dorcas, I can see you"
"What do u mean?"..
"I can see your pain, I can see the memories that are running behind your eyes..."
"I can see you holding a clock, and trying to turn the hour hand back, multiple times over"
"I can see that you cry as you turn it because the day doesn't go back nonetheless, the sun is till standing still, the past is not repeating"
"I am sorry it had to be this way......"

RIght there and then, with a sorrowful stare , she slipped out of my grasp and disappeared back into the FICTION she belonged. and that was a lifetime ago....

IMAGE SOURCE: www.saatchiart.com

line.png

Check this App I created to check Your Pending SBD Payout

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Wow! @akintunde, you are incredible!!! I love this ....great job bruv!

Thank you for checking my blog. I am grateful

Ha! The pleasure was all mine!

I like the poem.
Great job.

Thanks for reading @blanca56. I'm happy you love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67920.11
ETH 3854.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69