The Key Is Consistency! (Fine Arts)

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Keeps the Nerves Warm: Regular practices and exercises helps our skills to refine overtime and serve as good hand warmers. Few months ago I had written about doing regular line exercises and sketches to keep our minds habituated with it. Even on days when I don't have an idea or a "great" thought, I grab my books and try to put out something. If I don't produce work of great quality, I make sure to do something while watching my TV shows, movies, etc. It doesn’t feel too distracting as long as I know I am letting my brain direct it sub consciously.

Gives Room For Exploration: Let's face it, we artists (fine artists) do not get out of our beds every day and go "Oh! I have a great idea!" There are days when we are staring into our canvases with a blank look not knowing what to do. This is equivalent to the "Blinking cursor" moments in writers. (I know as I see my brother going through it sometimes :P) Anyway, in such situations I have the strongest of urge to push things aside and chill with my laptop instead. But I try my best to not give in and try to either change my paint medium or tools like paper, pencils, etc. There have been multiple occasions when I have discovered new styles of painting or drawing just because I knew I had to be consistent no matter what.

painter-1246619_1280.jpg

Teaches Discipline: Yes. Over the years one of the most important traits that I have observed in me is discipline. I have had many new steemians come up to me and ask about steemit and if posting everyday is necessary (especially in the earlier times) I always had the same answer. Consistency and keeping yourself disciplined enough. The same applies in art too. It teaches you the importance and power of discipline and you force yourself to step out of the comfort zone and produce something. I have heard/read in multiple places about how successful artists have habituated themselves for long hours of focused studio work.

Builds Image: The above mentioned points were for you as an artist but if you talk about gallery owners representing your work, they love a creator who shows them consistency in their work. They love to see that promise fulfilled because it is an investment on their part. They take care of your work getting exposure, getting potential clients, presentation and marketing, building up your brand, etc. It seems like a huge commitment at once but you really have to find something that you don’t mind clinging on to for long periods. One day at a time and slowly you are on your merry way of being a consistent artist.

art-3343890_1280.jpg

Sure there are days when we have zero motivation and desire to create and it is completely to take a break sometimes. And I am big believer of taking pauses when I am close to the "burnt out" phase. All of this is okay until I know that I am being productive over all.

Check out my previous post here : Factors To Consider While Planning An Art Exhibition

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this tips for artists !!!
I think it can also be applied for other things in life, And life in general

Whenever I saw great artworks I always ask the artists how do they come up with that. And it is true that consistency is the key, more practice, time and dedication.

Definitely. It applies to every aspect and everything in life. You have to put in the hours if you want to master something and be regular at it.

Congratulations @aishwarya! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 43.02% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @aishwarya! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Practice is the only key factor at becoming better and better.

@aishwarya,yeah regular practice is must to keep our skill consistent

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree when you said that sometimes we need to take a break, also it is a must in many aspects in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00