Deceiving Symptom of a Defective Power Supply (Desktop)

in #busy6 years ago

deceive.png

Earlier today one of my co-employee called me about her computer that is not turning on. When I arrived at her table I tried to push the power button but there was no response, the computer is really not turning on.

I looked at the back of her computer's CPU just to check if the Ethernet connection of her computer is on. To my surprise the light indicator of her computer is on, meaning to say there is a power coming from the power supply itself.

The symptom would make you to think that you have a defective motherboard or RAM.

If there is no light on the Ethernet of the CPU there's no electricity plowing coming from the power supply.

With the the defective motherboard or RAM in mind I tried isolating the problem. To my surprise, neither the motherboard or RAM being isolated the CPU is still not turning on.

With the results that I got in the isolation that I made the problem seems to be pointing at the motherboard or RAM.

Even though the isolation that I did points either to motherboard or RAM as the defective parts, an idea is lingering in my mind that the power supply could still be the problem.

To confirm that the problem is either the motherboard or the RAM I need to test them individually in a separate computer.

But there was no spare computer that I can use to test both the motherboard and the RAM. Luckily, there was a spare power supply that I can use.

To my surprise when I replaced the power supply of the computer it turns on and continued to boot to Windows successfully.

I said to myself, "Wow, this is the first time that I encountered this problem in my 12 years as an I.T. professional".

What could be the Problem on the Power Supply?

The power supply could be generating less power as it should be. The light indicator on the Ethernet and on the motherboard requires only little power that is why they are on.

But once I try to push the power button of the computer it it not turning on. Replacing the power supply of the computer confirms that the replaced power supply is only giving less power than the computer needs.


I am an I.T. professional (Computer Engineer) working in a private company, a blogger, a father and a husband.

Jhon Steemit.png

SmartSelect_20180410-190656_Gallery.gif

afterglow.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by afterglow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54