I almost forgot it's summer...

in #busy6 years ago

I have to admit that the summer of 2018 is for me, by now, the coolest that I've experienced in Romania and don't have anything to complaint about it so it's definitely no rant post that you read right now. It's actually a "gratitude one" if I may call it this way. Yes, I am grateful for temperatures under 30°C in July.

I don't have problems with dry heat and even with 40°C+ as I am used with them, but I'd rather live on constant 25s the entire year although for now I don't see that happening any soon. However, I am not deciding the weather, thus I have to embrace what I got and what I got is changing back to the normal summer in here. For about a week though summer has gradually took its rights back with temperatures constantly over 30 and a lot of sun and moisture. The sun I love, as I am born in August, and function under a "sign of fire" from the zodiac but moisture is not my thing.

2018-08-09 at 20.38.41.jpeg

It's that thing that makes you sweat continuously and constantly search for fluids and only think of lying around a pool with a cocktail aside. Something that @fullcoverbetting pointed out also in one of his posts about two weeks ago when describing the weather in Belgium for that period. Now, pondering a bit the situation it's like the climate is castling between areas with more than a thousand kilometers separating them.

What Peter(@fullcoverbetting) and @pele23 described as a weird weather for July in Belgium was actually normal for Romania...until this year when July was cooler than normal and too rainy. The castling though seems to turn the sides back as the weather gets back to over 30°C constant temperatures as we get our summer back and unfortunately our hot nights also. Yes, the classic one...that normal one...that sunny and dry summer that I was used to...

Although the picture in the post is of a sunset and it doesn't describe what I am writing about at all, the temperature is actually of 29°C at 9 PM so yeah...it's still pretty hot comparing to the previous months which was supposed to be the "hot one". Haven't got yet to a pool, but I am planning for the weekend so will come back with some proper pictures describing better the situation. There is a nice one at about 15 kilometers from my town where I was a couple of times last year also and that's where I plan on getting some real tan in the next few days. So, will get back on the topic.

How's the weather in your country? Do you have a proper summer?

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

Extraordinary hot and dry in most of northern Europe; we've personally experienced it from Oslo down to Amsterdam and back again. Lots and lots of beer and water consumed. But now it's starting to get a bit cooler.

While the weather in the days have been almost the same every day ... hot, hot, hot and mostly sunny ... the same cannot be said about the nights. Some nights have been almost as hot as the days and dry, other nights have been slightly chilly and very humid.

Just saw some pictures today from Gothenburg and the grass was yellow, burned by the sun. The one who sent the photos also said that barbecues are forbidden there and that there's a fine of 30,000 kroner for whoever makes barbecues. It's been announced on TV and at the radio. It's also weird that at the North Pole there was 32°C recently according to some news while in here we had up to 30°C the whole month of July. However for August and September we have a whole different weather cast. Something that we should have had in July...It's probably coming down from North in the months to come.

It's also weird that at the North Pole there was 32°C recently according to some news

That's something I don't believe in :-)

Here are some weather stats from Longyearbyen, which is roughly half the way between my home town and the north pole:

Last 30 days: Average temperature was 7.8 °C, 1.7 °C above the normal. Highest temperature was 15.2 °C (2 August), and the lowest was 3.5 °C (13 July). The total precipitation was 26.7 mm. Highest daily precipitation was 6.0 mm (16 July), measured at 7am (8am daylight savings) for the past 24 hours. Highest wind speed was 12.6 m/s (11 July).

Last 13 full months: Highest temperature was 15.2 °C (2. Aug. 2018) and the lowest -19.6 °C (30. Dec. 2017). Highest daily precipitation was 18.9 mm (24. Oct. 2017). Maximum snow depth was 12 cm (18. Dec. 2017).

Source: https://www.yr.no/place/Norway/Svalbard/Longyearbyen/statistics.html?spr=eng

As it's shown on the graph, 2nd of August was an extraordinary hot day there.

@acesontop Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50