On Creating Businesses

in #business6 years ago (edited)

The Reward Pool is at 988,752 . I wonder how much they add to the pool each day?

I have some SBD that I want to powerup. Rather than going through blocktrades. I will try an experiment: In a couple hours I will go to minnowboosters.net and buy an upvote for 1 SBD from @minnowbooster. If things work right, then my upvote will translate into STEEM POWER with just one transaction, instead of two.

Their site says that Minnowboosters will take a cut and of course some of the money disappear as curation rewards, but the actions should transfer SBD to STEEM POWER.

NOTE: I tried doing this on an older post. @minnowbooster bounced back and said that I have to place my order in the first 48 hours of a post. So, I have my fins crossed <-- yes I am playing on the fish analogy that drives this site.

As for today's topic. I started using SteemIt.com because I am interested in starting businesses. I was hoping that, since the site has a funding mechanism, it would be full of people flush with entrepreneurial spirit.

I used the plural "businesses" because I am not just thinking about myself. What I hope to do is to be part of a group that creates a network of businesses.

The framework that will work the best is to create an association that creates a business model and resources for starting the business. Members of the association would then use tools from the association to create their personal business. The association model is akin to the merchant coop model.

The association model is attractive from a design perspective because it creates a truly distributive model for business.

The overall philosophy behind what I am doing starts with the realization that issues such as providing health care, pulling people from poverty and creating a robust economy are business challenges. They are not political challenges.

The proper way to address the challenges of our day is to create new business models.

BTW: Many of my posts come off as hyper-critical. The reason for this is that I am evaluating the platform as a business and not as a publishing platform.

For example, while SteemIt has a robust economy where people are might a little bit of money. I do not see a large number of people setting up sustainable businesses on the platform.

There also appears to be an unhealthy class divide between whales and the plankton.

These are issues that I usually ignore. But as I am thinking in terms of setting up business network, I find the issues disturbing. I want to creates business structures where everyone, not just a few people in the center, thrive.

Unfortunately, the resource constraints on SteemIt limit my ability to respond to comments. If you are interested in discussing what I am doing, you can visit my blogspot blog which uses the Google login. I can respond to comments there.

The picture shows a construction project on Wasatch Boulevard in Mill Creek, Utah.

DugInn.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54