Thinking about creating your own business? Just start!

in #business6 years ago (edited)

I've had quite a few comments on steemit from people looking to start their own business in the future and so this is for you!

Over the past year i've met many people who speak about one day having their own business. A lot of them have solid ideas for what their business might be. Some have done extensive research and others just know they don't want to work for someone else forever. They all have one thing in common.. they still haven't started.

It won't be easy, but the entire journey of owning a business is forever on going and complex in so many different ways. Starting, is just step one and I feel many people put too much emphasis on this part.


image source

When I first started thinking about opening my own business it was back in 2014, although at that point I hadn't vocalised my plans. I felt owning a business was such a huge feat and so instead of doing anything, I spent 2 years over thinking it until I decided to actually do something about it in 2016.
Many people told me to 'just start', but listening to this advice was something else. How could I 'just start' something so serious?!

It doesn't have to feel so serious, or like a great sacrifice. You can start something on the side and take your time with it until you decide to focus more of your efforts into it. It doesn't have to be so drastic. If you can change the way you think about it, and stop seeing starting as such an epic challenge, you'll remove the worry and in turn be more likely to actually start something up.

If you think it sounds too challenging to start a business in your spare time, just remember you can take as much time as you need. You will spend that spare time on something else anyway, so it may as well be your own business, if that's something you want to achieve.
Also remember that you will probably always have more than one job if you have your own business, especially if you want to take the financial pressure off yourself. For more tips on that, read my previous article on taking the pressure off your start up here.

Being a small business owner, my friends circle is now made up of a lot of other small business owners and many of them too, like me, regret not starting sooner. I started my business in a bit of a non-conventional way. I didn't have an official business plan and I hadn't allocated funding for specific business aspects. It was a bit of a mess, but in starting I soon figured out how I would need to organise myself and which parts would be crucial to the survival of my business. 

My advice in life for anyone looking to move country, start a new business or take up a new challenge is always 'learn as you go'.  Whatever research and planning you may put in beforehand, it is never the same as actually experiencing it first hand.

Think of it like steemit! Before you joined steemit, you didn't sit down with a note book thinking,
'I want to know every single aspect of steemit before I sign up for an account and understand whether it will transform my life before investing my time into it'... Did you?
You probably just thought 'Let's see if this steemit thing really works!' - Hence 'learn as you go'.

Business is very much the same. I think we see business ownership as this huge, scary, milestone when actually it's just another avenue, another project that you will spend time working on and figuring out how to keep it alive.

If you have a good idea for a business and feel you have a time to start it up or at least are able to spend your spare time on it, then I would suggest...


Just start :-)



Yasmine

*if you have any advice for Small Business Owners, use the #sbo - let's build a community of like-minded thinkers!

Sort:  

Very true and I feel like I fall right under the umbrella of people who want to start something but still haven't done it. Maybe I could incorporate it in one of my challenges, i.e. spend an hour every day on starting a new business idea (and that will def require market research, looking for the right people to speak to etc.).

Thanks for yet another great piece of advice - I'm fully on board with you about starting now and starting small and slow. That's exactly what @allasyummyfood did with her YouTube channel whilst still working full-time. X

I totally agree. You were actually one of the main people I thought about when writing this. At least an hour or two per week. That's progress and it means you're starting! :-)

I hear ya ;-) Liam and I want to launch our Instagram account this weekend so that’s starting one thing at least, then I can move on to the next!

This is something that has been driving me nuts since I was a kid. I knew since I sold my 1st eclair Candy that I would like to manage my own business, growing up I was told we are just not rich and everything we earn is "hand to mouth" I would attend all,trade fairs,conderences, seminars, networking events, conventions, buy inspiring entrepreneur start ups book, line up for autograph signing and ask the successful entrepreneurs all my questions. Thank you @yasminep this year I will Just start :)

Joyce, you totally should. There is a hell of a lot to learn, so just be ready for that. I'm always around if you need any tips.

Hello creative business Yasmine Girl, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and I agree with what you say, that a journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step and we got to break up big goals into small tasks. Just start. Get your feet wet. Start with one thing. That is key for people. They got to wiggle in like a worm. The worm does not just cry for a lack of legs and arms. The worm wiggles and gets places haha. Keep up the good work and advice.

2013-12-10 Me Kool English.jpg

Get your feet wet! I love that phrase. Awesome feedback. Thanks so much!

Amazing word of encouragement @yasminep :) Currently struggling to kickstart my side project, but hey - you don't need to have it all figured out in order to take the next step right? Would love to get to know you in person one day!!

Yes. Exactly! Not only do I believe that, i'm living it! Wishing you all the luck in the world. :-)

Hey @yasminep, I really enjoyed your post because I resonate with it deeply! I have been trying to "start" an online business for two years now. While that may seem like a long time, last year I just got distracted with so much BS in the online marketing space. I've been trying different "traffic methods" too that just aren't very effective. However, I have recently got myself a mentor to help me get on track. Currently I'm adding extra income streams for my business and the traffic source I'll be focusing on is free and paid ads with Pinterest. While it has been a messy two years, I feel that 2018 will be a year of success. What traffic source are you using for your business? I always love connecting with other business owners.

Hey! Well it sounds to me like you've already started! :-D
Making it a success is another thing entirely. At the moment my business is mainly running offline, because i've had better success with it that way. Wishing you so much luck with it. I like the idea!

Thanks for the inspiration. I believe starting a business may differ from one country to other. believe me it is hard to start up a business in a third world country owning to the overhead cost such as electricity and logistics. In Nigeria for instance, you don't get electricity round the clock so you have to use a generator that is a cost. You have to transport your goods to the final consumer amidst bad roads and several other factors. Am not saying it is impossible...

I totally understand that there are always limitations to this. How about starting up an online only business that offers a solution instead? Would that work?

Just what I need today, a reminder. I did just start and few minutes ago, thinking that maybe I should go back to my comfort zone - earning a salary from a job. Braving it on again! Thanks!

Keep with it. You need 2 things, one is focus and one is the willingness to learn. Everything else is secondary.

I don’t how to put this ... but i have to say .. its a spot on write up!! I decided to leave my good paid salary job and set my own greener pastures.. never regretted it at any bit .. its my best decision i ever made . Thks for sharing @yasminep

So happy to hear you agree and also that you took the leap! Well done you!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

This is generally just such a nice motivating thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87