Networking with Billionaires: How did I do it?

in #business7 years ago

Guests at one of my first networking events
8.jpg

On May 28th, 2017 I organized a private networking event in Tokyo, Japan to an audience of 60 Chinese investors, Japanese executives and top American influencers and entrepreneurs. As a 29 year old founder with a company barely 2 years old, I am proud to have achieved such a thing but how did I do it? It all comes down to one word, VALUE! I created a platform for people to get much value than money can buy, the value of connecting "Social Currency" as coined by Gerard Adams. I realized early that if I could help people connect with others that could provide resources and connections to help them grow as individuals as well as their companies, they would be attracted and keep coming back. But where did it all begin? Well it started during my college days (2 years ago actually haha) when I would throw parties for international exchange students. I would get a friend to let me use his home to host amazing people from all around the world. One of them we did when his parents who worked for the United Nations weren't home to tell us we couldn't use their mansion. Don't worry everything was respected and taken care of although save a complaint from neighbors due to music, there's always a risk when you do big things :)

One of my first big "Parties"

International Exchange Students enjoying one of my early parties

I began my networking company Tribe Network International because I loved to meet people from all over the world, after all it is how I grew up (read previous blogs). I always loved being in the room and hearing a new accent or language from someone just across the way. When I started the company it was more of a project. As I mentioned, I would hold small parties for international exchange students at my university. After a while and as I grew more mature I knew it had to be more than just a party, I had to provide a value that would be worth people coming back. I decided since I was an entrepreneur, why not make business networking the main goal. Yes we would have a time to socialize and meet new and interesting people but the main point would be connecting for business opportunities and collaboration. This is when things changed. One of my first "professional events" was held on a rooftop hotel in downtown San Diego to an audience of about 126 people. Dress code was required to set the professional mood and some entertainment was provided. It was a resounding success and I met some of the most influential people in the city that night, one of them now my partner Rod, who works with ESPN (more on him and our partnership in future blogs)

First Event in San Diego
(
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
9.jpg

After just a few months the buzz in the city about "The Tribe" grew so much I was getting messages and email from all sorts of top people in the city on how they could get involved, "when is the next one" so I knew I had to step up. I incorporated the company and began to brand as a Luxury company, I also began to invest out of my own pocket with things such as high quality photography and video. This is what really sets you apart, you have to realize on the internet everyone is watching and you need to be at your best. I could speak a whole lot more but the I am so happy to share my biggest success to date below: Along with a couple of my partners we were able to create over 25 new business opportunities and connect investors with developing entrepreneurs in Tokyo Japan. We called the event "Tribe Tokyo"

How did Tribe Tokyo happen?
It's funny, this happened by accident. Well not really. There was an exchange student girl from China who had been seeing my events online but never attended. It's funny that despite her not being their in person there was enough social proof and trust from people she knew that had interacted with me that she felt the need to reach out. It turns out since her short time in the US she had become a strong business woman. Its funny how that works and this is why I try show respect and love to everyone and provide them value, you never know if that person you met will become the next president or the next Bill Gates. Well she asked if we could collaborate on an international event. I said yes, and the rest is history. Photo coverage below

First International Event "Tribe Tokyo One"

Four.jpg

Eight.jpg

two.jpg

Nine.jpg

Seven.jpg

Five.jpg

Six.jpg

three.jpg

Tribe main.jpg

You can find out more about Tribe Network at TheTribeLosAngeles.com and Follow the social media below:
My Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/theglobopreneur/
Tribe Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/TribeNETWORKINTERNATIONAL/

Sort:  

Next time invite those who give you upvoted.

Nice! So why dont you invest all that dough in steem and up me? :D

Congratulations @theglobopreneur! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50