You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Factory Audit: Inside China Hardware Sourcing

in #business7 years ago

Great write-up @cryptastic. I'm over the border in HK, haven't 'toured' the factories myself, but my girlfriend (HK Chinese) has worked as a freelance, in-field translator for a few medical equipment companies over in Shenzen, Guangzhou areas. I still can't believe the level of growth in those areas, especially when I think back to the first time I visited as a little 'gweilo' kid with my dad back in the 80's.

Sort:  

wow you were here in the 80's? There was nothing here I've seen some pictures. Must have been cool.

Yup - there was literally nothing. I vaguely remember staying in a crap hotel plonked right in the middle of 'nowhere', not another building around, visiting a school to watch kids perform a dance routine they must have practised a thousand times for people like me, going to a shocking restaurant - I can still remember that clearly. Also, buying fire crackers, and going to a 'shopping mall' which looked like it had recently been looted. E.g - One TV on a shelf, with other random assortments scattered about in no particular order.

And then the next thing I know - boom! Unprecedented growth and commerce. A seriously 'blink and you miss it' kind of place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58404.34
ETH 2367.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45