Small Business no.1 - Scribo Novus Eucation

in #business7 years ago

front.jpg

I started a small self-publishing business about two years ago.

I am a home-school mom and my then almost 5 year old came to me and said she is ready to learn to read and write. As a good mommy I went out and bought some workbooks for her to practice her writing. I was utterly disgusted to find not only spelling and writing mistakes, but there were content in the books that was against my beliefs as a christian mother also. So it was unto making our own exercises then!

I am an Afrikaans speaking boerwoman and being that Afrikaans is our home language, I designed some letter "a" exercises in my mother tongue. This was the first exercise.
Drafted by hand.png

She enjoyed it so much that we did another with the letter "m". She could now recognize and write the letters "a" and "m" and it that way she could already read and write the word "mamma". The following letter was "k" and in Afrikaans she could now read and write the words "mamma", "kam" (meaning comb) and "mak" (meaning tame). We did this until we finished with the entire alphabet.

By the time we finished the alphabet she could already read loads of words and she could write all the letters in the alphabet. I made the exercises fun and entertaining with lots of picture to colour.

My husband is bilingual in both Afrikaans and English and he helped me to translate and modify the book to English. I designed another book later for little ones age four plus. The math book is in testing phase.

The series is called "Look mommy". I decided on this because my children always wants to show me things and they always start with "Look mommy..." The books can be purchased in pdf or in hardcopy format.

Book 1: Look mommy, I can read and write (Kyk mamma, ek leer lees en skryf)
Book 2: Look mommy, I am growing up (Kyk mamma, ek word groot)

You can buy with Bitcoin on my website is https://scribonovus.co.za/ or my etsy shop https://www.etsy.com/shop/ScriboNovusEducation.

I am also open for ETH, LITECOIN or STEEM.

Thank you
Semco Mama

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59425.55
ETH 2345.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44