Productivity HACK of the day, take regular breaks

in #business7 years ago

"Rest and be thankful."

William Wadsworth

Take regular breaks

I remember when I was younger, I would work 18 hour days. I remember a few times when I would do this for extended periods, I would sit at my desk hacking out code (I was a programmer in a previous life). Looking back now though, I can see my younger self, getting more frazzled, less focused and actually outputting less.

We are all guilty of it, working too hard and not taking breaks, now I am not advocating spending most of the day surfing the net, but you should aim to taking a break at least once an hour, it will increases your work productivity overall. You are never too busy to take a break, even if it is just for five minutes to step away from your desk.

A few simple ideas for your break :

  • Don’t be tempted to have lunch at your desk, always eat away from it.
  • Go for a walk.
  • Use the Pomodoro technique to build in breaks and concentration.
  • Meditate.
  • Some guilt free surfing.
  • Read some of my previous posts about productivity :-)

As an absolute minimum please try and take at least two 15 minute breaks a day, get up from your desk and go for a walk or a coffee.

Thanks for taking the time to read today's post, I would love to hear your experiences. More productivity hacks tomorrow.

This week's productivity Hacks

Last weeks hacks in one handy digest

Your family are your most important stakeholders.

The Pomodoro Technique

Credit for images


As always thanks to https://www.pexels.com/ for the image

Sort:  

I like lots of breaks, but the recent one to the hand was bad break.

Tee hee...very funny :-)

Thanks for taking the time to stop by and have a look :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99