You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to prepare for a Presentation/Speech

in #business7 years ago (edited)

I went to a tech conference in London the other month to present for SolarCoin. Another member of the community had booked the event but had to do another presentation so I was covering; when I got there I was on the main stage, which was about 10 meters wide with three huge video screens behind it, professional soundstage, lighting rigs and full-on TV cameras. Id estimate there was about 400 people in the audience, I had to present this other guys slides, gulp!
I think it went ok, I was intimidated but I remembered one rule a presentation expert gave me; bigger crowds are easier!
That seems weird, but think about presenting to 5 or 10 people, your audience aren't going to be too scared to speak up, ask difficult questions or even be critical. In a big crowd, most people aren't going to poke their heads up too much, they have the same performance anxiety you do :)

Sort:  

Waw! That is a large audience. I have found the same thing and it always depends who I present to also. For example if I present to my research group I have no worries. But as soon its someone who I value their opinion I suddenly get stage fright.

I remind myself even professional actors get stage fright! Presenting isnt natural for me, but I have learned to deal with it and even enjoy it to some extent when Im passionate about the material.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97