Sometimes You Have To Stop Dreaming And Start Doing

in #business6 years ago



I will always be a tech guy. As much as I involve myself in other businesses - I know nothing else will ever compare to what I can achieve from using my unique understanding of technology and digital strategy.

I came to this conclusion after watching YouTube videos on growing lettuce hydroponically - in warehouses - last night. I have been sidetracked by my own curiosity. Last night I also ordered a set of "bump keys" (with the rubber "o" rings) because I've been into locks and lock-picking (and I have a property I lost the key for). Lock-picking is a distraction that will save me a few hundred bucks over my life on locksmith services. Last year becoming a piano technician helped me avoid a few hundred a year in fees as well. I like hobbies that pay but really these are all just different ways of using the brain and trying to stimulate a real idea. In my case I know where my expertise is - I just have an on again/off again relationship with it.

Distractions prime us all for action. When we've exhausted ourselves forcing ideas we usually re-centre. In technology that means reacquainting yourself with the tech you know and learning the tech you don't.

The problem with being in technology is that it's always changing. I had to make a gamble at the beginning of my career - I had to pick a direction in technology to follow. You have to decide early on where you fit in the scheme of things. Can you sit on a development bench? Do you want to deal with people? Do you want to touch wires and equipment? Or do you want to be the person who plans, upgrades, and buys new equipment

Once you define your path - if you steer from it and want to get back to it you gotta level up your skills. Code some examples. Prototype an idea. Learn a language for love rather than money (like Ruby). If you are a tech guy - get your tech brain going.

Creativity helps us think outside the box - we all solve problems uniquely which is why there are so many different opinions and strategies. Refocusing on your core skills - reinvesting in your existing businesses and "leveling up" your skills are important tasks as an entrepreneur. Sometimes you have to stop dreaming and start doing.

Sort:  

Unlike you im not tech savvy. Im a creative writer. I started writing poems at 17 and it has developed into a passion. Ive tried venturing into other forms of creative writing but nothing like poetry for me. So started to develop my skill, even did a few spoken-word poetry.
I have other interest still, but im confident about my poetry enough to tell another person, that im a poet, which i would not do if im not sure about myself.
In relation to what youre saying, we all need to find our niche and develop our skills. Facilitates growth and mastery of the said skill

Very true. I have always found myself drawn to tech. Mine was more the creative side. I designed a few little games(just for fun). Some websites. Did a lot of SEO. Used pirated copies of photoshop, AutoCAD and others. Fought myself HTML, XML, and c++. I was drawn to visual basic as a child on my commodore 64. Everything changes so fast nowadays. Haven't dabbled in tech in years

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61