You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem for Business: Thinking about a Steem-Powered customer loyalty program

in #business2 years ago

Wow - what a mess. So you had your account emptied for the simple reason that you didn’t oppose Justin Sun?

Yeah, basically my son and I voted for decentralization by supporting enough witnesses from both "factions" to try to ensure that neither could gain full control, but the Hive chain emptied the wallets of anyone who voted for more than 2 of the Sun/Steemit-aligned witnesses (or maybe 2 or more, I forget now).

And after everybody lost… Steemit somehow manages to “win” 21m STEEM?!

So far, I think they only won 14.5 million. The other 6 that transferred out to Binance was already in the steemit wallet, and (as I understand it) Bittrex now owns the 8 or 9 million "disputed STEEM" - they basically bought it with their interpleader deposit. The remaining legal dispute is in terms of USD, not STEEM, I think.

To be fair, Steemit lost far more on the Hive side than they gained from Bittrex, but the whole thing was definitely a mess.

Sort:  

To be fair, Steemit lost far more on the Hive side than they gained from Bittrex, but the whole thing was definitely a mess.

Yeah - fair point.

but the Hive chain emptied the wallets of anyone who voted for more than 2 of the Sun/Steemit-aligned witnesses (or maybe 2 or more, I forget now).

I don't know at what point anybody thought that this was a good idea. And I suppose that some sort of retaliation was inevitable. It's no wonder that 2 years on, there's still so much bitterness about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54280.30
ETH 2452.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24