You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Negotiation: Memory

in #business7 years ago

Yes, you are completely right. Making an awesome impression to everyone you're negotiating with, and making sure they'll remember you the next time you'll meet them is very important.

It's also extremely important to remember things for yourself, and that's one of the reasons lately I've been using the "Mind Palace" technique to remember things better.

The mind palace method is pretty simple - you create a place in your imagination, whatever you want it to be, and you make sure you know everything about it, every corner and every wall.

Then whenever you want to remember something you imagine that thing and you add it in your imaginary place. For example, if you want to remember a quote from a book, you imagine that quote written on a piece of paper, really clear, and you imagine that piece of paper being on a certain table.

Whenever you'll need to remember that quote you can use your imagination to go to the piece of paper on the table, pick it up, and literally read the quote. Of course it needs some practice, and from time to time you need to imagine all the things you put in your room, in order to make sure you remember them, but it's an awesome technique.

I used it months ago, when I needed to remember, for some reason, a number. I imagined the number written one of my walls in my "mind palace", and i still remember, to this day, whenever I imagine that wall, that the number I tried to remember is 22.

That may be a really good way of remembering all kind of things from all your meetings.

Anyway, great article. Best of luck! :)

Sort:  

Mind Palace. I am familiar with those... I call them something slightly different, but it is a technique that I learned soon after leaving school. Needless to say, my memory retention is far above average...

Thank you for a very insightful comment that others can appreciate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48