You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Business of Art: The Essential Importance of Building Visibility

in #business7 years ago

Hey @reddragonfly ....in my opinion,the creation of art fair where artist can showcase their works in an open environment and not a museum can increase your visibility and using the internet to create awareness about the fair will definitely be helpful.

Sort:  

I agree @mikay, and I wish there were a kind of open environment that would actually work well for artists. As it is, there is only the outdoor markets and art fairs of many sorts which aren't really great for artists either. Basically they are just another paradigm that requires everything of the artist!

So....perhaps we need to invent a new kind of avenue. And perhaps Steemit is a big part of it.

Certainly some potential in that idea... "SteemArt." I could see that, on many scales. A bit like TED talks... a central venue once in a while, as well as a series of "traveling" shows in the style of TEDx... could even (potentially) be a @sndbox outreach program for artists and the arts.

Definitely something to put in the think tank and consider.

When I lived in Texas, (20+ years ago) we did have some worthwhile art fairs... heavily juried, indoors, super well promoted. The booths were expensive, but many artists would walk away with $5000-$8000 weekends and 100's of new names on their contact lists.

Yes art fairs used to be the best sort of venue for artists but those days are long gone unfortunately and for most they are lucky to walk away with $500 after expenses.

I like your idea of a tedx-like forum for art, you may be onto a brilliant idea! If you want a collaborator, I'm IN!

Thanks-- I think it's worth noodling around. Right now I'm swimming in an ocean of end-of-year paperwork so my time is scant, but I'll definitely make some notes as I go along.

I like the idea of making it a Steemit-centered project and perhaps getting it under the Sndbox umbrella.

Very true! Art fairs-- especially "juried" shows-- can be excellent exposure, especially if the entrance fees are not too high.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34