How Do You Negotiate Work Offers?

in #business7 years ago (edited)

beverage-3013761_1920.jpg

I am curious. What would you do in a business setting if suddenly YOU were an "in demand" person?

The reason I ask is after much dedication to my work as a crypto journalist and columnist, it seems the momentum has built up my readership. Or my skill. Or something! I have been regularly receiving offers from unexpected sources to write and produce content for amazing projects.

My question to you, my friends and steemit users is this:

When you are "in demand" how do you negotiate the best outcome for yourself? What do you take into consideration when weighing your options?

Also: As a writer- should I be managed?

I think I should be closely managed because I want to focus on the work that I am good at - and that is writing amazing shit. Oh, excuse that naughty word. Hey, it is true though. Right? I create amazing content - not just here (oh right, the stuff I spill onto my steemit friends IS quality- but it is more like a personal diary that you all have the key to. Lucky you!) but in other outlets - as you probably are aware I have really good reads.

What do you think I should do to best leverage my growing audience? Do I need a manager similar to how an actor needs an agent?

*I am trying to make this happen on my play grounds where I currently am working- with the world famous "House" at Core Group. They saw it in me first and I owe a lifetime of good deeds to the Core family.
I am happy with them, I am tugged in several directions and it’s hard to manage.

community-2994532_1920.jpg

Tell me your thoughts @carlgnash @lextenebris @geek.phoenix @randomuser @stellabelle @kittylicious @joe.public @spiritualmax @jrb450 @mybutt <-- just kidding about my butt

Sort:  

I decided what needed to happen was a bit longer response, hon. Because while I can be long and rambling in a reply, it's so much more fun in a post.

https://steemit.com/writing/@lextenebris/writing-negotiating-offers-of-work-in-reply-to-lorilikes

According to me it takes a lot of courage to leave a job and start your own bussiness because after quiting the job we don't have a source from where we can get passive income .....But if you have proper plan then all the sacrifise that you made by quiting the job would be successful .As always I liked the way you made the article and intreacted with community
..keep it up

Thanks 🙏 nice thing to say :)

Isn't this the most wonderful problem to have Lori? I would have offered to be your writing pimp if I knew anything about the industry but I don't, so I will leave that offer off the table ;P

What to do with all the opportunities? If I were you the first thing I would do is increase my service fee. That way you can qualify the leads you receive. One of the biggest mistakes people make as they grow is not to increase their service fee (including myself). I would also be selective with the projects that I take on to ensure that my client and I can grow together (don't take the boring assignments as it will feel like eternity ;P ).

PS - Get a writing pimp who has your best interest at heart, like genuinely. I don't think it is necessary as there are some talented artists who don't have managers. I know Hugh Grant used to be his own agent for years and did rather well during that time. He once said in an interview that he felt he knew himself better than his agent, and as he knew what he wanted there was no point paying 15% to someone else :)

May you grow big and strong like an oak tree :D (I mean growth in spirit not in physical size lol!)

I don't have any advice right now. Rather than just throwing BS at you, I'll just say that I'm happy for you to be getting more exposure. I hope you're able to move into a position that allows you to pursue your interests more. I hope you get something that makes you happy, allows you more freedom, and gives you more money.
I'll keep thinking and if I come up with something I'll let you know.

Good to hear these positive words thank you.

I Think if you are in demand you are in a luxurious position. You can choose the offers wich are fun for you :) If you have work anyway then better choose the work you like right ? :)

Well, I've never been in a situation where I've been considered an "In Demand Person". I've been in situations where I've rocked a series of interviews with amazingly crafted stories and a fluffed up resume and have been presented with offers of employment. I've always negotiated more salary, extra paid time off, gas money, etc. I can only imagine you need decent representation and personal assistants if you're in that much demand. But yeah, I got nothing but price charts and I know when to buy and sell assets.

I think in my current position the boss is not ecstatic that I am in a spotlight but I do have loyalty and I do credit most of my success to his belief in me. It’s a cool feeling and it pains me at the same time. *sigh

Yes, you need to be managed for you to be proficient and result oriented in your chosen career.

Ok.
I will share my thought .
thanks for sharing about this @lorilikes

Wow am so happy that you've become this successful and you've grown in your business. For me I will say choose the one that wont give you stress and will pay well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83