True (Story) Hustle: A Brief Anecdote on Tactical and Strategic Capital

in #business7 years ago

Being a the “go-to guy” for Powerpoint (and therefore Audio/Visual) I was requested by Executive Vice President of Sales to assist with the delivery of a presentation for the department’s annual pow-wow. This was a big deal because it was during this offsite that they handed-out the big commission checks for deals that were closed that year. In viewing the presentation, I noted that four commission checks were to be given out with the flowing values: 

· $10,000

· $20,000

· $25,000

· $250,000

I couldn’t help but noticed that two of the largest checks were going to the same person! Needless to say my jaw dropped when I saw these ‘Price is Right’ sized checks being handed out while simply being content with an occasional breakfast or lunch while helping in the same capacity with similar company functions. Moreover I also couldn’t help but notice that that in two months the top sales people would be treated to a company expensed trip to the Ritz Carlton on Maui. A few days later I happen to run into the EVP in the break room and blurted out:

 “Brad! If your department is handing out checks for two hundred and fifty thousand dollars and sending people to Maui I might want to come over to sales!” 

Brad’s response is the reason I am writing this anecdote. 

“Eddie, that is exactly the kind of thing I want to hear! But you gotta remember that Dean had been working on the University of Colorado account for three years before he closed it. That’s a $200 million dollar account, so $250,000 is really…” 

He then held-up his thumb and index finger to denote something small. There was an awkward pause after as I nodded my head. Brad then pour coffee into his mug and left the break room in a semi-hurried manner.   



Post Script 

Rather than give my two cents, I’d rather hear yours. What’s your take on this true story, my fellow Steemians?  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30