You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living Advertisement Free - Don't Ask Me To Disable My Ad-Blocker So I Can Read Content You Didn't Create

in #business7 years ago

Here's the thing that I think advertisers haven't quite worked out yet:

I don't have to be there. The Internet is full of interesting things that I want to do, most of them somewhere else. If I hit an article (I'm looking at you Forbes) that wants to lock me out of reading that article unless I turn off my ad blocker – I move on down the line. I've got no time for that kind of shenanigans. As you said, my life is short and time is valuable.

Every time you disable your ad blocker in order to open up to their demands, you reinforce the fact that you will disable your ad blocker in response to their commands. Is that what you want to reward? Is that going to make them less intrusive?

I don't think so. That's never going to end well.

Your time is valuable. Act like it.

Sort:  

Exactly. How does aggravating someone make them want to pay for your product?

I've never understood it. Clearly it's worked for this long, though. People are still watching TV, and they're still buying the drugs and smartphones the TV tells them to buy.

But there's also signs advertisers are desperate. Maybe it'll change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41