Quality vs. quantity or How I broke the internet

in #business6 years ago

Copy of ZIELGRUPPE (1).png

About 2 years ago, I released my first online video course, a course about startup development. Two years later, just today, I released my 2000th online video course. For two years, I published 2–3 video courses per day!

Here is how I did it, what I learned from it and why going mass often is not a bad idea.

Let me begin at the start of my journey. I come from a fatherless household, grew up with very little money and always dreamed of being able to live from my passion.

At the age of 16, I started my first business. It didn’t turn out to be very successful but wasn’t a failure either.

Four years later, I hit 1 million USD in sales every year without spending a dollar in marketing cost. You might ask, how did I do that?

I focussed on quantity.
A lot of people think that quantity and quality often done come together and I couldn’t disagree more. If you spend all day long painting, will you get better or worse at painting after a while? I guess, you will get better!

The same concept applies to writing blog articles, publishing video courses, doing YouTube tutorials, setting up businesses etc.

Every morning I wake up, have a cup of coffee and a couple of toasts. Right afterwards, I get started creating my first video course of the day. I re-use sometimes some of my content but create at least 80% new content for every course I publish. I heavily rely on the online course publishing platform Udemy. I have 400 of my products published there. Why you might ask?

Well, I never wanted to focus on marketing too much!
I always thought that if I just create enough courses, as some point people will recognise my work. And this is exactly what happened.

Right now, I am in both languages German and English a bestselling author on Udemy with more students than I could have ever imagined.

But how did I get to 1 million in sales?
Well, I don’t just publish my courses on Udemy but also DigiStore24.

I generated 150.000 USD/year on Udemy and over 400.000 USD/year on DigiStore24 + I have multiple other side businesses (like blogging on Medium and my own online academy).

With all of my endeavours, also here on Medium, I focus on quantity and quality simultaneously because I know at some point I will be discovered and perhaps blow up again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66