You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Narratives Are Nothing Without Capital To Follow

in #business5 years ago (edited)

Every drinking bottle and can yields me 10 Cents, my Provincial government had long established a deposit system as an incentive for the public to return the containers to specified Recycling depots. On my daily commute I find plenty of unclaimed containers as many commuters are so lazy or indifferent they do not bother even putting them in designated recycling bins located along the commuter network.
Unclaimed they go unsorted into a landfill and the Govt keeps the deposit as General Revenue.
I am a Part-time Freelance Binner intercepting recyclable and refundable unclaimed containers right off the top of the Garbage receptacles but refuse to dive into dumpsters and just for the easy pickings.
There are many other people that do this daily, full time all year round, some daring to actually dive into a dumpster.
It's Off-the-Grid Income as the depots pay in cash.
I feel good doing more than my fair share and get paid for it.
My 2020 Income so far... almost $140.
And I buy some of my Silver Bullion with that, and take out Pizza dinner treat for my kid's about once a month.

Posted via Steemleo

Sort:  

Legit, no such programs here in Malaysia one of if not the largest contributor to plastic refuse..

The mentality is the trashiest aspect as its a common practice to litter at every opportunity...

In fact I'll take a walkabout say 2km round trip from my upper middle class guarded community and make a steem post to display the abundance of shitheads that dwell here..

Posted using Partiko Android

Same here, we often joke that the national flower of South Africa is the plastic bag!

My dad owns a recycling company they do mostly glass and plastic, lol our house was filled with it growing up, all the family and neighbours would drop their shit there. We don't have any formal programs so people shit sort of live in their own shit because they couldn't care less and waiting for the government or someone to do it.

I think having programs like this is important because over generations it becomes a habit regardless of the money it brings in and once its socially widespread it has a compound effect.

I always say if everyone keeps their shit clean we won't need cleaners, allas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64151.19
ETH 2773.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65