My accidental blog

in #business7 years ago

I started blogging in 2015 because a friend told me that the future is digital. i did not want to be left behind. I was advised to find something that i was passionate about and i kept asking 'will it make money'? Many people have this advise that work on your passion and money will follow you. If you look at the folks giving that kind of advice, they already have money.

I love mentoring young girls and work on anything sexual reproductive health. I wanted to start a blog on that, but where i am from, some things about sex should not be freely posted. Menstruation is a taboo in some areas, and the girls that really need the kind of information i wanted to share, do not have access to electricity, smartphones or the internet.

I thn started guest blogging on everything. life, love, animals and one time i did review on a small business, and i knew what i wanted to do. I set up a blog www.herbusiness.co.ke. website-42.png

When i started, i thought it would just be writing and posting photos. I had to learn about copyright, cross posting, sharing posts on social media and engaging readers. I gave up after three months until i started my business. I would share my experiences in running a small business and slowly, i would see people read. 10 readers, 100 readers and so on.

In 2016, i was nominated for the Best Business blog in Kenya by the Bloggers association of Kenya. In that year, i made US$ 2,500 on sponsored posts (yeah for money) . This year i got myself an editor and two contributors. The readership has not massively change, but i am learning how to push it.

This morning, my blog was selected as Top 50 Must Visit Websites For Entreprenurs, Business Owners and Investors in Africa! What a wow!
website-africa.jpg

Its year two and i am loving it. Doing business, writing about it and making money!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57