Why Entrepreneurs Need To Be Boxers

in #business7 years ago (edited)

Are you ready to throw blows in the ring of business? Are you ready to fight with some opponents?


Source

Don't get scared. Personally, I do not like boxing too, nor do I like violence. Business can be seen as boxing. But this time around, your opponents are different, competitors, lack of funds, irrelevant partners and harsh business environment, the lists keeps going.

A boxer training | Source

As a boxer, you need training. You need to get better in order to beat your opponents. As an entrepreneur too, training is important. But this time around, it is a different kind of training. You need to improve yourself as regards business management. A good business manager runs a business smoothly.



I once read a newspaper, it said "for an entrepreneur to be successful, there is nothing like life-work balance". A boxer does not have working hours, he trains all the time. He is dedicated to what he is doing, mainly because he loves it. Do you love your work that well? Love is a motivating factor. It drives someone to do much work. A boxer also selects the food he eats carefully, entrepreneurs should select what they invest into properly. A boxer does not want to add too much weight, just as an entrepreneur does not want losses.



A boxer heads to the ring, expecting some hard punches. Sometimes, a good boxer might even loss some big matches. An entrepreneur should expect the same, setbacks and unexpected events happens. A wise man once said, "The number of times a person falls, does not matter. What matters is the number of times he gets up". Always try to turn disappointments to your advantage. Come back stronger, with something new. Surprise the market. That is how you will become a Champion.


A Champion | Source

A champion may not always be a champion. After becoming a champion, boxers usually have top contenders. They have to train continously to beat these ones. At times, champions retire and go into different fields. As an entrepreneur, when your business is booming, you need to continue to implement new ideas. For both a boxer and an entrepreneur, diversifying into other areas is important.



From this writeup, I'm sure you see that there is quite alot entrepreneurs can learn from boxers.




If you enjoyed reading, you can check out my other article: Using Your Steemit Account For Business

Sort:  

that's why Gary wrote the Jab, Jab, Jab , Right hook book.

Lol.. I don't even know about the book. It must really be a good read then.

of course , garry vee is the man !!!

Great metaphor. I don't box, but I love to watch movies about boxing - Southpaw, Rocky Series, Real Steel, Cinderella Man.

In the ring, there's only you and your opponent. In life, there's also only you, and your opponent. The only difference is that in life, your opponent is also you.

Let's dance.

Lol I'm dancing already :).. I agree with that, sometimes we are our own opponents. You just got a new follower :)

Nice message!
My Voting Power is a bit low right now, but gave you what's been left from my 100% vote :-)

I'm glad you liked it. I'm happy seeing you around my domain. Welcome to my home lol. Thanks :)

I got scared initially but you made sense in the end. Thanks for sharing.

I'm glad you enjoyed reading, thanks for coming by.

Thanks for sharing. I think it's time I handle my business as a box.

Yeah, it's good to take the bull by its horn sometimes.

Good analogy to a boxer. People don't plan for shortfalls or unexpected situations a lot in businesses. Very few entrepreneurs save cash as well.

Saving is really a problem for most entrepreneurs. Planning for bad times are really important, and saving cash is one important way. Thanks for coming around.

great read and interesting idea, have been trying to learn how to invest for a short while and can see how this relates

I don't know how this relates.

I'm in love with this write up.... The analogies are out of this world....

#lifeofaboxer....LOL, upvoted and resteemed

Thanks, I'm really glad you like it.

Interesting anaology; one thing you missed is the role of a coach. A boxer is able to progress and improve his skills with the help of a coach. The coach helps identifies the boxer's main strengths, and the areas where he needs more training to improve performance. On the business world, entrepreneurs rarely have the willingness/ability to pay for a coach.

A boxer needs to develop strength, speed and stamina to be successful. What about a business person? I believe the key capabilities required are commercial acumen; a solid understanding of financial management and financial accounting; negotiation skills; and leadership skills. But above all, the ability to be resilient.

What about you? What do you think are the key skills required to be a successful entrepreneur?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43