My Two Cents on MLM Companies

in #business7 years ago

A lot of people take issue with ordering from anyone who is part of an MLM (multi-level marketing) company. These sorts of businesses are often called "pyramid schemes" and get a bad rap; perhaps the products aren't up to par with the customer's standards, or the mark-up causes the products to be unreasonably expensive, and sometimes what the companies demand from their consultants is just excessive. All they see is the money piling up for the consultants and the companies, while more-than-necessary comes out of the customer's pocket.
Money.jpg
And all of this can be true - for some companies.

I can only speak for the companies that I or family and friends are a part of; ones where I've seen what they require and how they work. Any others would be by word of mouth, and probably not the most fair and accurate account. And I'm not one to purposefully spread gossip.
gossip.jpg

There are so many of these companies out there now that's hard to know which ones are legit business and which ones are the money-grabbers.
To know that, you need to ask a few questions:

How much does it cost to produce?
How much is this type of product in a regular store setting?
Is this product a higher quality, or lesser than what I would expect in a store setting?
How much are they charging their consultants, and do those consultants make enough of a profit for their business endeavors to be worth the work?

questions.jpg

Once you've asked yourself these questions, it gives you a better idea of price fairness, or whether you would choose to join that company.

I have one example of a good company right off; Usborne Books & More. Yes, I may be slightly biased as I am one of their consultants, but I didn't just join on a whim; I looked into it first.

UBAMLogo.png
Being a UBAM consultant is, in one word, awesome. I love books, I love children, I have two little girls, and we plan to homeschool. Joining the company seemed like the most ideal way to get the books we wanted, and possibly make some money on the side - and I've done both. The starter kits are very reasonably priced with high-value contents, and the only cost of being a consultant is the $8/mo after your free incentive period. No quotas. No pressure. The books are also very budget-friendly for the consumer, with 25% being $5.99 or less!
UBAM price breakdown.jpg

I don't wish to publicly disrespect any businesses by mentioning those I do not find fair. There are, however, a few factors that I would think about before placing any orders, and those are the questions listed above. If I can find the same product in a department store or on Amazon for less, I am more likely to shop there. If the company requires their consultants to pay high fees or meet unreasonably high quotas, I won't support them in doing so. But if the product is one that can only be found through that one company (take Lilla Rose for example), or is 10x better quality than the same or similar item elsewhere, I'll shop through a consultant and that company.

Shopping through consultants can be difficult for some, and it depends on the individual's personality. If they're patient, kind, and laid-back, it can be a great no-pressure shopping experience. But if they are demanding, pushy, and overly excited about every little thing, it can turn a lot of people off as far as MLM companies go. Oftentimes one consultant can ruin the experience for everyone, so pro tip: If you're a consultant, don't be pushy. If you're a consumer, don't let one person determine your opinions.

So there's my two cents when it comes to MLM companies. It just depends on the company policies, the products, and the consultant's personality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59