A Vital Business Lesson That Will Cost You Time, Money and Even Destroy Your Reputation!

in #business7 years ago

IMG_0398.jpg

A Vital Business Misunderstanding that can cost you time, money and destroy Your Reputation is...

WE DO NOT DO FAVORS, we offer high quality services period!

One of the hardest lesson I learned was that you never sacrifice process for price. Many times in the past I met with very nice customers who wanted me to skip vital steps in the painting process, to save them money. In one particular situation I had a customer who wanted me to let their son do the pressure washing to save a couple hundred dollars.

Being young and naive, I decided to be the nice guy! I wanted to help them save money, yet they believed they were buying equal quality services. Unfortunately their son was not qualified to run a pressure washer to prepare a surface for paint. He did a poor quality job for the most important step of the painting process. Upon mobilizing on the site, I realized he did not do a thorough enough job cleaning the surfaces getting painted. I did not want to bash their son, so I painted the house.

Just a few short months later, areas of the paint began delaminating on the poorly prepared surface. I was called in to perform warranty work and take a tongue lashing for using cheap paint, doing poor quality work and other equally false accusations.

When we began the business transaction I felt like I was doing them a favor and saving them money. They did not understand how important a properly prepared surface is to a long lasting finish. Yes my reputation was put at stake, not to mention the extra dollars and time of my own I had to donate to trying to fix the paint failure.

Today when I have customers that want to save money and sacrifice quality , I simply tell them I do not do work like that!

I want to control the entire painting process. From preparation to completion. Customers deserve the right to choose the right way, or the wrong way. My job is to clearly explain why each step of the business transaction is important to a lasting finish. If I can not guarantee that I am going to hit a "Home Run" on a project, I simply tell clients that I am not the right company for them.

I get all disagreements out of the way before the business transaction begins. This ensures a happy customer from start of the project right through till the end of my warranty.

IMG_0117.JPG
Ormond Beach Exterior House Painting Before
IMG_0149.JPG
Ormond Beach Exterior House Painting After

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64156.67
ETH 3169.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53