My new STEEMIT business cards have arrived!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #business8 years ago

If you're like me, you've probably scribbled your Steemit user name down on paper a few times to share with others by now, right?

Well, I've decided that if I ever want this to be my business - or at least a side income - then it's time to treat it like a real business by leading with a professional business card!

For any who wish to follow suit, you can see that - aside from getting cards printed - I took the additional step of obtaining a "forwarding url". Simply put, this is a unique domain name which I created, registered (using GoDaddy.com in my case because I already have an account), and then "pointed" to my user profile. Instructions Detailed Here for Godaddy users but it's easy to do with any registrar.

With a forwarding url/domain name, whenever somebody anywhere in the world types www.ibringawareness.com into their web browser, they are brought directly to my user profile! ( @ibringawareness

A business card with your user name would work, yes, but to truly stand out as a professional, I'm sure you can see the difference between owning "a real dot com" and asking or expecting someone to type out 

https://steemit.com/@yourusernamehere

I was already writing down the above url/domain name when telling someone about my articles (and Steemit in general) which worked okay, but wasn't truly professional. At best they might remember "Steemit.com - that's with two E's"... but would they also remember ME? 

And MY profile name? 

And the @ symbol???

Now, I can also give them a card and be 100% sure that they will land on my page as their more personalized introduction to Steemit, which for sure helps promote the community, but myself as well, obviously.

I'm blessed to have a local friend in the print business, who took my idea and RAN with it, by creating the background image using Steemit's colors as his starting point. I'd've never thought of this on my own, and have to say that when Ken sent me the proof, it was love at first sight! (I'm sure he'd welcome your inquiry HERE if you would also like cards with the same background. Steemit's been good for me so far, and I'm happy to share Ken's design with others of you in the community who will find it useful.)

At present I'm only using the domain name to point my user profile and my writing. However I own many domains and am pointing more of them here over time - such as my podcast, now "powered by Steemit" www.AREA51.fm . And my waiter blog www.TheWorkingGuy.com ... The back of the card is purposely left blank, so that I can just jot down any additional notes, sites, contact info or actions I am directing the card recipient to. The next step in my master plan however, is a single article/post (here on Steemit) that serves as a master list to all of sites and projects I'm into - sort of a "one website to rule them all plan" that I will later re-direct the main url to.

That way this single business card will serve as the only one I need anymore, and the Steemit platform will be "the hub" of most of my personal and professional projects. 

I'm kind of "going all in" you could say. Hence, I just checked the Pay me 100% in Steem Power box for first time!

If you have - or obtain - a forwarding url that redirects to YOUR user profile, feel free to add it in the comments below - I'm glad to "bring awareness" to your Steemit projects, not just mine!

Best,
Guy
www.ibringawareness.com

Sort:  

All I have is steemians.com
oh and
steemtechs.com

REALLY? Steemians.com? Oh damn you are good. I'm kinda jelly, but I have another I'm thinking about buying myself, which I won't share just now.... ;)

why thank you... and i completely understand ! !! but you have the perfect first name in real life as well ! ! ! !

and i love your cards ! ! !! ! ! !! ! ! awesome in truth !!!!

I should do this. I got intothesteem.com for projects down the road a bit, but for now it just redirects to my blog. Nice cards! :)

Well done sir, we obviously think alike. In your case and mine the domain is "memorable" enough to drop in conversation. Someone really really interested will remember to go to it, or write it down themselves. But a card with your url on it would totally ice that cake. My friend Ken replied, and is working me up some rates to post here later btw.

Nice work Guy. Promotion is key.

BTW. If anyone wants business cards, my company will give you a great Steemit discount on a 16pt card stock (not some of that cheesy paper you get from Vista Print). You can even have it glossy on the the front and matte finish on the back (just in case you still wanna write something on the back)

And the cards will ship right to your door. If you're interested contact me at [email protected]

Hey I'm Guy Malone and I approve this message! Brian aka @highimpactflix and I high schooled together, and he is the guy who turned me onto Steemit in the first place.. his FB posts did anyways. Feel free to contact him and/or my local guy for a quote. Mine from Ken are definitely not flimsy Vistaprint ones either btw - 20 or 24 point I'd wager (I'll ask him later) - and glossy on front. I'm not going t post what he charged me tho, it was a friend hook up, still waiting on his reply for actual rates.

lol u c u gotta know people, knowin stuff is not enough anymore u gotta network ! ! !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75