What was the biggest mistake you made in your startup?

in #business6 years ago

main-qimg-c7778534ba0184968c77dcb2201a55ac-c.jpg

Not working on the business, working in it.

Almost two years after we started, my partner and I did every possible job in the company. Those two years are a blur - time spent on day-to-day stuff and micromanagement. I had no idea what running a company means. I was a recent graduate. I had passion for programming.

We were a lean startup by definition. Pushing ourselves and the two employees we had to get shit done. I just wanted to make the clients we had happy. Had no idea how to get new ones. Just doing programming and running an office.

I thought I can get things done better than anyone else. More efficient than anyone else. I was underestimating the time we were spending not running the business.

I am sorry for every minute we spent working on tasks that can be delegated. That was a minute we weren't planning, strategizing and growing the best business possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41